We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cathedral House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral House
Ranked #23 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B with great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cathedral House in early July. We had a large twin room and a huge bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast was excellent and the owner, Liz, was very friendly and hospitable. Thanks again Liz for a very pleasant stay. We will certainly be back whenever we visit Cardiff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreenhyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Super room, great value for money, thank you!! No compaints really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

After searching through many b&b's which had negative feedback we came across Cathedral house
We booked it on the strength of the positive reviews and we were not disappointed
Rooms are very big and spotlessly clean and you are made to feel very welcome, also we thought that the rooms are very good value for money, well worth every penny and more
Following day we had a lovely breakfast to start our day off and pleasant chat with the owners
One of the best b&b's we have stayed in. Would deff use again and highly recommend
Martyn & Rosa

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martshingler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Cathedral House on a Friday night when we were going to a concert at the Motorpoint Arena and it was lovely! Before we arrived I was in constant contact with Liz who was very accommodating and gave us the choice of what time to check in. We got to Cardiff about 13.00 and were shown to our room which was absolutely huge!! We were told to come and go as we pleased and when we told them where we going and asked them questions about distances Liz's daughter very kindly sorted a map out for us and showed us where we needed to go. We were very impressed with the room as we were unpacking, massive wardrobe, lovely comfy bed, plenty of drawer space for a long stay and a lovely big bathroom. We then went into Cardiff to grab some food and have a look around which was gorgeous!

We got back to the room and the only downside to it was it was on the front of the house and with no double glazing the road was fairly noisy, and as I am a light sleeper I found it quite hard to sleep. In the morning we were shown to the lovely dining room and given a choice of tea/coffee, we were given toast with a selection of butters, jams and marmalade. We were then told to help ourselves to cereal whilst we waited for our cooked breakfast, which was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. We checked out about 10.00 but again this was flexible.

I would have loved to have given this B+B 5/5 but just the tiniest of things stopped me. One of our towels in our room was slightly dirty, there was a crack in the sink and the toilet felt like it was coming off the wall everytime i stood up! Also the noisy road out the front was a slight disappointment. I feel very petty mentioning these tiny little things but we were very spoilt when we went to a B+B in Leamington a few weeks ago and when I compare Cathedral House to that it was (very) slightly less impressive. However, the hosts were fab and I would definately return to this B+B if we came back to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Request for a room that doesn't face the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avfc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Cathedral House. Our room was in the upstairs loft - it was huge. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom and shower were of a large size too. Everything was great, including the hearty breakfasts on order. Our only criticism was the busy street we faced, which could be solved by double glazing for guests staying towards the front, and parking was sometimes a minor issue where we had to park a short distance away.

But genrally, great B&B and close to a nice pub, some restaurants and a laundrette that also does same day service washes.

Would recommend but if you are staying at the front, don't forget your earplugs!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The houses on Cathedral Road are lovely old Victorian mansions and the lovely thing about Cathedral House is that it has been modernised but stil retains the feel of the original. We had a choice of two rooms when we arrived, both with lovely modern furniture and a 'corporate' feel to the decor. It felt more like an expensive hotel than a bed and breakfast. The shower room was lovely too, the shower was especially roomy.
Breakfast was in a beautiful room at the back of the house,bright and welcoming. The breakfast was fab too.
We stayed for four nights and spent most of them in and around Pontcanna, eating and drinking in the many and varied establishments there. The cost was £260 which was money well spent. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house so was probably quieter than rooms at the front of the house. Cathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbielloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had 2 double rooms for one night.Rooms are very large and comfortable,very good beds,our room, number 1 was very quiet.Very good breakfast served in an attractive room. Somewhere I would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Room 1 first floor at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticboySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#16 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number 62
Number 62
#9 of 46 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#3 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#6 of 46 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House

Property: Cathedral House
Address: 146 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9JB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cathedral House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing