We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian In Cardiff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mowgli's

Mowgli's
Ranked #17 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Indian In Cardiff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I tend to try out various Indian Restaurants around Cardiff, but if you want very good food, good venue, ease of parking, and value for money (don't we all !) then I always end up back at Mowglis.
This place was full on Monday night ! (4th Feb) when I enjoyed a superb meal, with very generous portion sizes, and cooked to perfection.....consistently good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    104
    32
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Epic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

After reading 'Gourmet Gorro's' Cardiff restuarant blog (love it!) we decided we had to book this restuarent for my daughters 24th birthday celebration for 4 of us on Wednesday 17th January. Wednesday night we learned is Banquet night, which offers anything from the range of the menu (including all seafood) and entails a starter dish, a main meal dish, rice, naan / side dish, dessert or coffee all for £14.95 per person. The decor, ambiance and amazingly attentive staff who served us all evening with exceptional professionlism resulted in a night to remember for a long time, and last but in no means least, the quality, range and wonderful presentation of the food was absolutely first class, i have never enjoyed an Asian meal of such outstanding quality for such value before, all of our party agreed without exception.

Thank you 'Ash' and your front of house team and your excellent back of house staff for making our night so special, we will be back again and again

Thank you
Julian

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank storeyarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so disappointed,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

this is a little late as i took my friend here for her birthday on the last saturday in november.i had booked but it was a rugby day and at nine o'clock there was no table waiting for us, and it was a long wait before we were seated at a table right at the back which was cold and squashed against the wall.however there was still the food to look forward to! as it was 9.45 by the time our order was taken we opted for poppadoms and a "regular" curry, the pickle tray was dismal-some mango jam,green jogurt and red jogurt ,both watery and sweet ,and some chopped onions.all a total let-down.the mains were also lacking- i had a tikka makhani which was overtly sweet,and my friend had a chicken vindaloo,she said the sauce was reasonable but the meat was dry .i have not had such a poor experiance and have been to many indians in cardiff for over 40 years.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Stunning Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

First I must say we are a family who know a thing or two about Indian food. Mowglis is one of those places who take pride using fresh ingredients and service to match. Found the food to be modern yet retaining its flavour as you would find in the north of India. Please visit if you want good Indian food without the price tag.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharif15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Indian in Cardiff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am shocked by a previous reviewer's comments saying the food is 'average'. Myself and friends (male and female, hot and mild lovers) have tried Indians all over Cardiff and all agree this is by far the best quality. Both the meat, ingredients and sauces are of a very high standard, as are the starters and poppoadoms. These guys deserve the award and recognition they received, you won't find a better curry! The staff are great too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Squiggle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mowgli's also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Mowgli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing