We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super base with amazing light show”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super base with amazing light show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent a few days in Cardiff and were delighted to find our hotel was so close to Queen St station and therefore only a few minutes' away from Cardiff Bay by train.
Our 2nd floor room overlooked the Arena and cinema in the distance and we loved watching the light display on what seemed to be a multi-storey car park beyond.
The staff were friendly yet professional and there always seemed to be someone on "Reception" during the day and in the evening, if not through the night.
We walked to many attractions in the centre of Cardiff and found it a useful base for our excursions. I am getting used to the malls and arcades in Cardiff so having the St David's centre so close was wonderful.
Will definitely try to use this as a base next time we're in Cardiff.

Room Tip: For the light show try to get a room overlooking the Leo Abse solicitors across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnymarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,913
    878
    167
    55
    35
See reviews for
930
1,041
122
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Sodbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at this Cardiff Premier Inn and was very nice, close to the shops ect, train station about 5 to 10 min walk, all very good, we did not eat in the Premier inn , as there is a weatherspoon's just around the corner, would book another Premier inn , if the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Cardiff City Centre as we were there to enjoy a birthday meal with family. It was very central - only disappointing thing is that I was under the impression that it had it's own car park which turned out to be across the road (not really a problem as it was sunny but a bit annoying if it was raining). However I do appreciate parking is difficult in all cities as we have experienced this before. Car park was a bit expensive (should be £22 for 24 hrs but hotel discount made it £11 - still a bit expensive) but we went shopping the next day in the David Centre which was very close so we were there about 24 hrs in all so at least we had our monies worth. Hotel was very clean, large room, very friendly and helpful staff and it was great to be able to have breakfast so late as we had a late night! All in all I would stop here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy2Gloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night after a football match over at Cardiff City's ground. The hotel is a good distance away from there but is ideally placed for the city centre shops, bars and clubs. Parking is available nearby and isn't overly expensive. The hotel is close to the main road out of town and 2 mins walk from Queen St station (15 mins from Central)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Premier Inn is three years old and has been kept in very good condition. Couldn't fault it, really - the location (right outside Queen Street station, 100 yards off the main shopping street, 10 mins walk from the Millennium Stadium) is ideal and the rooms are well soundproofed. Great value for money - we booked well in advance, but at £39 a night, couldn't be beaten. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Only slight down side was the cooked breakfast - usual standard for these sort of places, i.e. not great, but there is plenty of other choice apart from the cooked items. I would recommend the continental breakfast option as it's cheaper and you're not missing anything not having the cooked stuff! It's all buffet style, so you can eat as much as you like.

Thoroughly recommended for a visit to the city of Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 12 for one night to take daughter to a concert at the CIA. Hotel is in an excellent central location, close to shops and resturants. Check in was quick and the receptionist was really helpful. Room was located on the 6th floor, good view over Cardiff and the Millennium stadium. The room was a good size, one double and one single bed- both very comfortable! The bathroom is a decent size and it was all spotless!
Room cost £64 for one night, was one of the cheapest I could find for one night.
We love Cardiff so will no doubt return again and for good value would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Have stayed in many Premiers, this was my first in a city centre. Exciting location, great view from our fifth floor room. Clean as always and very quiet. Staff were attentive and helpful. Only downside was the breakfast. Having had plenty of Premier Inn breakfasts I know what to expect, and this was the worst! Eggs swimming in grease, bacon stuck together, served at a hatch adjoining the kitchen.I ordered poached eggs and was given two, gray rubbery messes. I ate yoghurt and fruit. Tea and coffee making area in an inaccessible corner. Crowded serving areas on a busy day. Very impressed with hotel, decidedly underwhelmed with breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing