We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much else open”
Review of Cafe Rouge Cardiff Mermaid Quay - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge Cardiff Mermaid Quay
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not much else open”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in Cardiff bay hoping for an independent cafe for breakfast at about 9.45am. There was hardly anything open so ended up in Cafe Rouge. There was quite fast service, even though it seemed like the waitresses first day. Only down side was thing were a little cold. Good value for money though and very tasty.

I was slightly annoyed by a family who decided to seat themselves right next to us, despite a nearly empty restaurant. They were then very loud and obnoxious! That's not Cafe Rouge's fault though! Some members of the public just need manners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    77
    51
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“All round bad experience 👎”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Usually we never complain on here but this was diabolical. Walked in and asked for a baby high chair, did not receive.
Ordered a coke after 15 min wait ( in a lunch hour with only 7 other people and 6 staff) it came as soda with a hint of coke. Ordered French onion soup, which had 3 or 4 sprinkles of cheese, sent it back. When I asked the Eastern European waitress to put some cheese on it she shouted something at me in her native tongue!?! Ordered olives, never arrived but got charged for it! I have been to many cafe rouge before and they have been great, sadly this one needs a desperate shake up of the service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matandsabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the Bay”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Met some South African friends for breakfast here. We all went for the Full English with fruit juice and coffee included in the price. The owner was very welcoming and the waitress was very pleasant and attentive. Food was freshly cooked and came piping hot. It was enjoyable but we had to ask for more toast. As we were quite early the restaurant was not busy but more customers came later. Would return in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEO1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For a sea-side restaurant, better than expected!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went there with a friend and brunched on Eggs Royale. While I wouldn't have deemed the food as suitable for an upscale restaurant, for the price we paid, I was more than happy! You certainly get what you pay for (and a bit more as well) and the venue is very nice. Service was nice and friendly, and tried to do a bit extra for everyone, even if they were a bit confused :-)

All in all - a very nice brunch venue if you're just looking for good food, but I wouldn't take someone I wanted to impress there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kringberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant location, good service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We sat outside in a pleasant area with shade provided by trees. The restaurant was not overly busy and the server (Beth) provided unobtrusive but watchful service. The food was generic but it is a chain after all. However it was well executed and nicely presented. Be aware if you want to sit outside that there is a new Wetherspoons being built next door so there is some building noise at present (May 2013).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Cardiff Mermaid Quay also viewed

 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing