We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A group of three we stayed for a long weekend. Greeted by a very friendly host, very helpful with things to do, places to see, eat and drink. Great location approx 15 mins to the centre of Cardiff, train station and Cardiff castle a little bit further. Room was lovely very modern and what we needed. Breakfast was included each morning and a wide variety of breads and cereals to choose from. Hot breakfast for a little extra. Overall a great hotel which made our stay in Wales very enjoyable, will be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_K88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Gorgeous room - spacious and airy - everything we wanted. Full breakfast (extra) was good - but also the continental (included) next day was also great. Limited parking but secure. Owner's mom very helpful - lots of helpful tourist info and tips - recommend the buses! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night last week so we could spend a couple of days in Cardiff shopping and sight seeing. We arrived a little before the normal check in time (which is 2pm I think) but the owners mum checked us in early without a problem, they knew roughly when we were arriving as we had been asked to text ahead. We had asked in advance if it would be possible to have a parking space at the hotel itself and so we parked in a small parking area behind the house, which is very secure with a electric door. Though there isn't alot of space for parking I would say enough space for three cars, possibly a forth so you might have to park elsewhere but I get the impression theres plenty of streets nearby if necessary. The interior of the hotel is modern and stylish. The breakfast room is light and airy. We stayed I think in room 7 which was lovely, nice to bright skylight windows (with blinds) and a nice little onsuite bathroom with a shower etc, very modern, stylish and clean (it didn't have a bath but this wasn't a problem for either of us). In the morning we both opted for a cooked breakfast (an extra £5 each person, which is very reasonable in my view) which was very nice. Though the Continental looked good to for a small hotel/guest house, a selection of yogurts, cereals, toast, fruit, croissants, juices etc.

Though the only slight negative I would say is the location it is a little far out for walking in for a night out if wearing heels in my view as to get to the area with alot of the restaurants and clubs it would take maybe half an hour plus ie near the milienium studium, castle etc. However in comfortable shoes during the day to get to the edge of the centre I would say 10 minutes walking at a steady pace. So if your planning a night out I would suggest maybe a taxi or a bus in and out which ive been told costs about £5 one way before midnight, so really its not a problem just something to be aware of.

All in all we had a great stay and will almost certainly stay again next time we spend a night or two in Cardiff and would definitely recommend to others! Also I will add the owners mum was very friendly and welcoming. We didn't meet the owners whilst we were there but the guy I spoke to on the phone a couple of times when sorting out the booking who I think is called charles who is one of the owners was friendly and helpful to!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room at the back of the house because its on a busy road, but if your used to traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choosy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

just returned from our trip to Cardiff for a family christening. Helen greeted us warmly and proceeded to show us around, made us feel welcome and at home. we were delighted with the Hotel, it has been furnished to such a high standard, with the modern furnishings complementing the authentic original features of the house. it is within easy walking distance of the city, with many pubs, restaurants and takeaways in the surrounding area.
Our room was exquisitly furnished and decorated to a high standard. we opted for the cooked breakfast as extra wich was lovely.
we have stayed in many hotels and guesthouses throughout the UK but this is by far the best.
i feel the need to address the fact that it has been noted that there has been some car crime in the area and that it is 'a little seedy'. i think this can be said of so many cities in the world and unfortunatly is just a reminder of the world we live in. the hotel is extremly secure and i felt safe at all times.
would recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have just returned from Cardiff after watching the Rugby six nations, we were greeted at the Hotel by the owner who was extremely helpful, and all she wanted was us to enjoy the stay in cardiff and also to make our stay in the Hotel a wonderful experience, and she did.
Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was excellent, the hotel was clean, modern & very central.

I wouldnt hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Comfortable hotel. Nice breakfast although the dining room was freezing but the good coffee warmed us up fast .
In the morning after a nights stay we returned to our vehicle,which we parked in Cyril Cresent just around the corner of the hotel to find the passenger window smashed !
Helen the owner assured us that this had never happend before and that she frequently parks her car there . Roath is quite a rough area and because of this we won't be returning .
Tip..The hotel does have a few secure parking spaces so if you get there early and there is one free , take it !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooleyjooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A perfect place to spend the night for our flying visit to Cardiff. The only thing that could have improved it would have been a longer stay.

The hotel is beautifully designed from the lovely stained glass and chandelier in the hall to the pretty terrace and cleverly laid out bedrooms. A lot of care and thought has gone into the place. It is extremely good value but the owners have not stinted on quality. For example, the mattress and TV are the best I have come across in any hotel. There is lots of thoughtful detail, like a good hairdryer, a DVD collection/books and papers in the living area, enough pillows, good quality tea and coffee / biscuits, mineral water, lovely smelling shampoo and shower gel; these may sound like obvious things to find in a hotel but actually they often aren't there or are rather meanly provided.

Continental breakfast was provided (cooked breakfast is extra) and there were welsh cakes as well as toast, fruit loaf , croissant and pain au chocolat; there was cheese, fruit, lots of yoghurts, cereals, jams and spreads.

The best thing about the hotel was the warm welcome we had from the owner's mother - we really appreciated it.

It is a very short walk into town and we liked the local area - like our part of London but with cheaper beer - and want to try some of the restaurants in City Road on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
1,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast

Address: 100 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1DG, Wales (Formerly Hotel One Hundred)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $55 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel One Hundred is an exquisite 7-bedroom boutique bed and breakfast just 8 minutes by foot from the centre of Cardiff. Not just any old bed and breakfast accommodation in Cardiff, the interior has been individually designed with bespoke furniture while retaining the beautiful features of the Victorian era. Authenticity and Affordability is our mantra - stay with us and you will see why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 100
Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing