We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great salads and cake!”
Review of Kemi's Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Kemi's Cafe Bar
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great salads and cake!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was delighted to hear that Kemi was opening another cafe near my home in Cardiff, because I had always liked visiting her place in the Bay. Her quiches are amazing, crumbly pastry and lovely fillings like salmon and cream cheese, roast veg. Coffee is good too and both my teenage girls love her cakes, good generous slices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmskiCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“KiCK-baCK at Kemi’s: ReKindle with a Kuppa & KaKe, piCK a quiCK snaCK or tuCK in to Kemi’s King-size KnoCK-out salads!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Kemi is an incredibly accomplished & creative cook: knowledgeable, clever, keen, kind, & knows her craft! Kemi & her café staff have champion culinary know-how, top-notch knife-skills, & clearly the knack of creating banquets of peak quality. . .

Kemi’s home-cooked cuisine is the acme of perfection and includes the most remarkable & quirky, crisp & crunchy Salad Feasts containing eclectic & curious mixes of crudités & terrific, scrumptious, health-increasing & comfort-inducing ingredients - from curly kale, cress, kidney beans & cucumber to kiwis & kumquats, and from kedgeree, cauliflower, corn & pumpkins to carrots, chives, currants & curried coleslaw with chilli! Salad feasts (eaten in or taken away) can be accompanied by chicken (e.g. tikka / coronation) or quiches (e.g. cheese & leek), or baked jackets, &/or squillions of other delectable culinary creations in copious quantities. . .

Consider also making space to include a thick slice of creamy cake, cupcake, flap-jack or crusty key lime pie with Kemi’s scrummy coffee. . . OR: dunk your bickies / cookies into a whisked ‘chocolat chaud’ (hot chocky), mocha or creamy milk-shake, or even uncork your own kir or kirsch, or drink a carafe of sparkling kola or even a can of cranberry juice or Coke!

Kemi’s is also a kid-friendly space, it’s well-kept and spick ’n’ span, and all these factors keep folk flockin’ back! So go to Kemi’s for a chat & catch-up with your kith & kin or talk with your kindred-spirit(s), or you can tuck yourself into a cosy corner to quietly take in the news or look at books & the like…

We’re so lucky that THREE Kemi’s Cafés exist in Cardiff! - Give Thanks for & Kudos to Kemi’s!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I just love Kemi's”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Kemi now has three restaurants - my 'local' is in Pontcanna & I also visit Craft in the Bay when I can too. The salads are amazing, the gluten free chocolate and banana cake is one of my very few guilty pleasures and I love the atmosphere and customer service. I've got a fussy tummy, and Kemis' salads are a delight to behold - any time of the year - my perfect lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Su T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not the best place down the bay”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've been here a couple of times and, although ok, there are far better places to eat in and around the Bay. There's a choice of sandwiches and salads and there is some seating upstairs and outside. Service is also very slow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another visit”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Absolutely superb salads
The food is so interesting
I have never tasted better salads anywhere
Then there are the daily papers ...tasty puddings ,great coffee etc
My wife and I enjoyed a meal in an expensive recommended restaurant in Pontcanna the night before which was significantly inferior to the meal at Kemi/s

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kemi's Cafe Bar also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing