We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Party!”
Review of Flat 5 Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flat 5 Cardiff
Ranked #29 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen Party!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend whilst staying at Flat 5 for a friends hen party, brilliant location, brilliant facilities and very helpful landlord- would thoroughly recommend! Perfect for a large group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 apartments one for 6 & one for 8 which meant we has the whole house to ourselves! Was pleasantly surprised by the size of both apartments, the larger one having both a large kitchen & lounge. It suited our large party and the facilities were just what we needed.

It's not the poshest or most modern apartments I've stayed in but it was clean, homely & we were all comfortable. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed our weekend & all my friends commentated on what a good find it was!

Good cafe (Brava) a few mins walk away.

Another loo would have been useful at times!

Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a hen party for one night. We were pleasantly surprised by the amount of space but could do with another toilet if sleeping 8 as stated on website it can sleep up to.

We had a great time but there was clearly a damp issue, the kitchen looked like it was being sorted but the floor is all uneven where the waters got under it. The bathroom was the same with rust having dripped everywhere off the radiator. The kitchen surfaces and bath/ sinks / linen were clean but no 'deep' cleaning has been done for a while.

Take a knife with you and some pots and pans if self catering as these items were all broken/ useless. I know that wont bother everyone anyway.

We had a great time and it was wonderful having so much space. The management were good at being in contact throughout the booking process answering all questions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in 3 bedroom apartment for a hen weekend. The apartment was light and airy and very spacious, although there is only 1 bathroom. Linen and towels provided, beds comfy, kitchen had everything you needed. Was perfect for what we needed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

2 Bedroom Apartment which was Extremely spacious with four girls sharing... Could easily of squeezed in about 6 of us. Decor was basic but was perfect for our one night stay towels provided heating worked brilliantly! No complaints about the apartment only thing that could be changed would be the shower it leaks out water at the bottom and the shower curtain could do with replacing.. other than that great apartment. beds and duvets extremely comfy and clean.
Will definitively be going back again in the near future!
I would recommend that they put together a information pack at the apartment explaining where nearest shops, restaurants and maybe reliable cheap taxi services (being foreign the taxi drivers tried charging us extreme amounts for a five min drives) and perhaps some information on the flat how to work heating ect.
Overall we were all really pleased with our stay and will be returning soon thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberleyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

There is only one Flat 5 in the 'Flat 5 Appartments' and this is at the top of an old Victorian town house in the pleasant Cathedral Road. It's next door to the Cayo hotel - a useful guide for your taxi driver as we found.

It is an old building, but the heating works (handy in the cold snap this week 27-29 November) and the kitchen is well equipped, the shower is nice and hot and the beds are comfortable. The beds are a bit low and this, along with the many flights of stairs that lead to the flat, makes it not so good if you have mobility problems. However the place is literally minutes away from central Cardiff and the Aquabus that goes to the harbour.

Arun, the proprietor couldn't be more helpful and we had a good stay in friendly Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the 2 bedroom 'flat 5' in Cathedral Road. We had previously stayed at another apartment in the area, which was not available for our second visit. The one positive about this place was the friendly welcome from the owner. There was scaffolding up at both bedroom windows, and the flat overlooked the noisy and popular beer garden of the large pub next door. The doors on the kitchen cabinets were falling off, the double bed was broken and propped up on phone directories. The bathroom was filthy, and we came home one day to find that the crumbling plaster over the living room window had fallen off, covering outer shoes with plaster dust. The landlord promised to fix it, and indeed brought a plasterer to the property, but nothing was done. We also found it odd that although there is a decent kitchen (which was at least clean, although my husband was lucky not to break a toe when the cupboard door fell off!) there is nowhere to eat food, you either have to eat standing up in the kitchen or sitting on the sofa. Do not stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KathrynB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
NosDa Hostel & Bar
NosDa Hostel & Bar
#4 of 48 in Cardiff
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elgano Hotel
Elgano Hotel
#26 of 45 in Cardiff
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Safehouse Hostel
The Safehouse Hostel
#3 of 48 in Cardiff
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunk House
Bunk House
#26 of 48 in Cardiff
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat 5 Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat 5 Cardiff

Property: Flat 5 Cardiff
Address: 128 Kings Road, Cardiff CF11 9DG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flat 5 Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A selection of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, capable of sleeping between 1 and 8 adults. All fully furnished, 10/15 minute walk to the City Centre / Millennium Stadium, offering you privacy, comfort and convenience during your stay in the Welsh Capital. The apartments are all located west of the city centre. They are not all in the same location, however they are close and accessible. If you are looking for a group booking or multiple apartments, please call us and we will talk you through the best options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Flat 5 Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flat 5 Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing