We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Space in the City - The Brewery Quarter
Ranked #25 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Brewery Quarter Apartments for 4 nights this month and I am pleased to say that from the date that we booked till we departed there were no problems.

When we arrived at the apartments we were greeted and shown around, the apartment was lovely and very clean.
The location of the apartment is fantastic, a stone throw away from all the nightlife that Cardiff has to offer.

This was our first trip to cardiff and it will not be our last, it is a beautiful city and when we return we will most definitley be booking the brewery quarter apartments again and staying with space in the city :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharlotteShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for A Space in the City - The Brewery Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed in this apartment in August 2013. The apartment is very spacious and clean. I may say it is of 4 stars rating. However it is worth writing the following:
1. Upon booking this apartment by phone, I called and paid by credit card which I discovered later that the no. was stolen and I was charged around $ 1000 for an on-line TV purchase which I had nothing to do with.
2. Upon checking in, I had to recieve my key from a restaurant within the same area!!!!

3. The most important action was, before we checked out, again we had to drop the key somewhere, we made sure that the aparetment was clean, neat and tidy. Bed sheets were in place, toilets were clean and tidy, dust bins were emptied, we even made sure to get rid of the items that we did not need by donating them to Oxfam. Bear in mind, we were four adults only with no children. On the same day I recieved an email from the apartment's company claiming that the cleaning staff took them more than 3 HOURS to clean the apartment!!!!! The wanted to take an extra 60 pounds!!! Much to their weak claim, they wrote in the email that the apartment was really dirty and that unfortunately they could not attach photos of that so called dirty apartment!!!!
Now, should they increased the fees for another 60 pounds that would have been much better than planning this kind of issue. I am a frequent traveller to the UK and stayed in many 5 star apartments which I had no negative experience with. beacuse they were at fault, they were not able to charge me. How can they charge me for something We did not do!

Just be careful because there are really people plotting to put weak unprofessional claims.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location. Hallways and entrance to flat not a pleasant experience stinks of cigarettes and is really grubby. Flat itself was spacious spotless and much more pleasant. However the fridge didn't work which is a bit of a nightmare when it's 30 degrees outside had to keep milk and drinks in a bowl of cold water which is a bit primitive. We also had to use a packet of plasters to tape the shower head into position to use it and the plate on the mirror light in the bathroom fell off everytime you used it. All of which is a bit of shame as they are small maintenance issues that have lead to a poor review. Cardiff is a fantastic city and the flat is in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherylanneallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City - The Brewery Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback,

We do hope that you had a great time in Cardiff however we are very sorry to learn through your review that your accommodation has had some maintenance issues during your stay that has affected your enjoyment of the apartment.

I have feed back to our maintenance team your comments for investigation and appropriate action. We do check our apartments prior to guest arrivals but from your comments it appears we may have failed to report the matters correctly to ensure they were rectified prior to your stay which is not acceptable.

We do hope you return to our wonderful City in the future and consider us for your accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Right in the heart of the City! Great accommodation and a good alternative to a hotel. Lovely fresh linen and towels. Plenty of space for 4 adults 2 Bathrooms. Deemah at Space in the City was very helpful. Great for shopping, dining out and Stadium events. Would certainly use again. Daughter & friend didn't want to leave, wanted to make it home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathyDoidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in the Brewery Quarter for a girlie weekend break in December 2011. These apartments are in a perfect position and couldnt be anymore central. They were perfect for us to go out in the evening eating, pubbing and clubbing and during the day shops shops and more shops! They were also lovely and modern inside. Of an evening as they are right in the thick of it it could get a bit noisey but this didnt both us at all but I wouldnt recommend if you wanted a quiet weekend break.
Was perfect for what we wanted and we would deffo be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sturty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Matteo_091974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City - The Brewery Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City - The Brewery Quarter

Address: St Marys Street, Cardiff CF10 1FG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the central piazza of this highly popular bar and restaurant area - one of Cardiff's liveliest meeting venues. Set at the south end of St. Mary Street, an entertaining nightlife is guaranteed, with locations such as Nando's, Walkabout, The Yard, Bella Italia, Chiquito's, and La Tassca, all within a hundred yards. Daytime interest can be served by visiting Cardiff's brand new £675m shopping complex, St David's, or Dewi Sant as it is more locally known. Adjacent you will find the largest John Lewis store outside Oxford Street, London. In addition, and within just a few minutes walk, are the many shopping arcades and civic buildings of distinct interest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Space In The City - The Brewery Quarter Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing