We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardiff city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cardiff city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights for a city break and the hotel did not disappoint. We had a suite which had a separate living area. The room was quite high up so we had a good view over the city. The room was clean and tidy if not a little basic in decor but I suppose that appeals to most travellers. It was a very spacious suite and the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was lovely and clean only down side was it was a combined bath shower and I prefer separate especially when paying more for suite perhaps. One small gripe about the room, there was a coffee machine which throughout our stay for the life of us we could not work out how to use. Think it was a little bit faulty, we did ring down to reception to ask for instructions and did what we were advised but still no joy. Breakfast was ok, we had ours by room service which was nice both mornings. A nice touch I did like about the suite was that we had a TV in the lounge area and TV in the bedroom area and you had complimentary access to the latest movies which was nice. Would stay again but would probably look for something with a bit more wow factor for the price and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Sorry about the Nespresso machine (admittedly I find them a bit fiddly to use too!) Next time just ask and we will be more than happy to come up to the room and show you how to operate them.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    850
    300
    96
    55
See reviews for
248
937
115
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel really is a cut above the rest and goes over and beyond to serve nothing is too much trouble, they really behave like a 5 star. I stayed here for 4 days a week for a year and they looked after me impeccably.special thank you to Jamie for the chats and the drinks and Francesco and Benoit for my birthday surprise.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Biztrip43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
What a lovely review, I have passed on your kind words to Jamie, Benoit and Francesco. They are all chuffed to have made such a positive contribution to your stay. We work hard to make sure that we offer a 'home y from home' enviroment. Glad to see that it is working. See you next time.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week (Sun-Friday) here for business, working in the city itself so did not use the conference suites etc. The hotel was a good base location and convenience wise. I had quick breakfasts every day and was able to walk to and from Cardiff Central station in 3mins.

My room (standard king) was nice, on the 13th floor I had a good view. There were some stains on the carpet which was a shame, but all hotels have careless guests now and again. The bed was very comfortable, free wifi quick and easy and the entertainment channels offered a good choice. Cleaners did a good job and bathroom was always spotless including towels etc.

As mentioned breakfast was good, loads of choice. Dinner was also good - nice touches such as water jugs with strawberries, mint and lemon in. Always buckets of bread on the table and a couple of happy waiters. Food was good everynight. Not the cheapest in town but nice quality, I had a crab linguine which had generous chunks of white crab. A prawn rissotto which was also generous and a caeser salad which you can't really get wrong!

There were some issues when the restaurant got busy - It only has about 10 tables, so you had to either wait of be seated in a strange out-of-restaurant area... A waiter did kindly seperate a table of 4 for me to sit at alone.

I used the gym, which is 4 machines in a room - fine for what I needed but nothing more.

All in all a good base, quite modern and comfortable. Good food, nice and welcoming staff. Just needs a bit of updating, new carpets and a bigger restaurant to make it great!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kjr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for such an in depth, positive review. I'm delighted to hear that we are getting much more right than we are getting wrong.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel when in Cardiff to go to the Millenium Centre by the Quay side. It is an easy 15 minute walk there and at the same time you are close to everything else in Cardiff city centre. Parking can be a problem, but the John Lewis Carpark across the road has plenty of space at £8/24hrs. The rooms are all well appointed and with very comfortable beds. Bathrooms are nice but not luxurious .Breakfast is the Full Welsh Fry-up, included if you have a business room, otherwise 15/head. Staff is nice and helpfull. Only criticism is that they are slightly understaffed and maid service, especially on Saturdays can be long in coming. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I am gla to hear that you enjoy your stays with us. I do tend agree that our maid service was a little slow on the weekends. We have been addressing that recently with some pretty big changes and now feel that we are getting things much better. Come back soon and tell us what you think.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Average 4* hotel in a great location. Limited parking - need to be there early to grab a place. Standard double room decor was a bit tired - bathroom excellent - newly refurbished. Heated towel rail was never on or did not work. Beds comfortable, 'skinny' pillow was not. Good continental breakfast but tea tasteless, music loud and inappropriate. Ground floor bar too small, first floor bar OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MitchsTravelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your thoughts, I hope you can come back soon to see some of the little changes we are implementing, including some new funiture in the rooms and (we think) some rather lovely tea in our breakfast room. Always happy to hear what we are getting wrong - we like the challenge.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Excellent room, well kitted out with fridge, iron and board etc. no normal tea was a bit disappointing and only two lifts meant using the stairs a lot. Breakfast good too.
Room and bathroom both very good standard. Location spot on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SimonHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share such a positive review about our hotel; i'll be sure to mention to our housekeeper that there was no breakfast tea in your room (an oversight I'm sure, but if it ever happens again just give us a call and we'll get as much as you need up to you).

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Phoned on the day on the off chance of a room deal, not disappointed as we were offered a junior suite. This hotel is the highest building in Cardiff and we were on the 20th floor so had amazing views over the city. The junior suite is a nice room and the receptionist offered an extra rollaway bed in the room as noticed that my children was a boy and a girl. Parking is on a first come first served basis but great if you get a space at £15 a day. This hotel is about location and close to main shops and restaurants. Everyone was friendly at the hotel from the receptionists to the young gentleman on the bar. With this package we were entitled to use of the business bar with free soft drinks, house wine, lager and snacks between 6-8 as half term this was fine with the kids and a nice start to the evening out. Breakfast good no waiting and a good size.
We stayed on a Thursday and Friday and no issues but as Cardiff is famous for stag & hens nights I am glad we stayed here not some of the more budget brands as looks like they could be rather loud, all and all a very good hotel with little disturbance right in the city centre

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better so very little road noise and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan m, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
What a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cheers
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing