We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$159
$145
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$109
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$172
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$119
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,562)
Filter reviews
2,562 results
Traveler rating
1,064
966
351
117
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
966
351
117
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness classjohn lewisbusiness roomcar parkfree moviescity centrejunior suitetrain stationcoffee machinestandard roommotorpoint arenafloor to ceiling windowstop floorcorner roomlovely hotelbreakfast was excellentfew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 2,562 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

4 of us stayed at this hotel recently for one night. Our 2 friends got a budget room at the back (unlucky), me and another friend got a much nicer room at the the front, great views of rainy wales. The best bit about our stay was TANYA the check in lady, she was a hero.....what can I say...Tanya, when it's cold, wear a jacket.!!! Tanyaaaaa

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connors525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your great review and special mention to our exceptional receptionist Tanya! It's great to heat that you enjoyed your bedroom with the great views. It is a shame to hear that you did not think your friend's room was as nice as I am sure Tanya would have been able to assist if need be with her Yes I Can attitude.

I look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Cardiff for two nights last week (Thurs/Fri) - we were booked into the Travel lodge (above walkabout) and had such a bad first night there we complained and changed hotels for the Friday night. The only hotel we could find available when we were looking on our mobiles the morning we wanted to swap was the Radisson Blu Hotel, we phoned and yes they had a room, for £95 that night.
We asked how early we could check in and were told 10am would be available for us - brilliant!!
From the minute we walked through the door we were looked after, we checked in at 10am as promised and went to our fabulous clean and smart room (unlike the travel lodge room)
it was perfect and couldn't fault it upon arriving, the towels were huge and fluffy white, wide kingsize bed which was so comfortable, toiletries in the bathroom provided, and just generally brilliant - there were even wine glasses, a fridge and an ice bucket in the room!
the ONLY thing we could find fault with after our stay were the pillows (but i will admit we are very fussy about pillows and struggle to get comfortable ones for home!)
I would recommend this hotel for anyone, and will say you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RR84310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your five out of five star review! You have mentioned many great elements during your stay with us. We always try and allow for early check in whenever possible, subject to our availability as we recognise that each guest has different needs. Our hotel team demonstrated our 'Yes I Can' attitude in meeting your expectations upon arrival and throughout your stay. The hotel provides great amenities to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable as possible. It is great to hear that you really appreciated these.

I am so pleased that you chose Radisson Blu to move to and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

a group of 40 of us stayed here in September for one night only On the positive side our room was clean and comfortable.
We were charged for our evening meal when we booked in. (we would not have paid for this meagre meal, had we had the bill after eating).
Our starter consisted of a few lettuce leaves 1/2 of a cherry tomato with some dressing and 2 small pieces of dried toasted bread. The main course was meat loaf (the weeks leftovers minced up ) served with mash and gravy not a vegetable in sight .
I have left it until now to write on trip advisor because i was waiting for a reply to the letter we wrote to the cardiff branch and head office, which they have not had the decency to respond to

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a nice stay in our lovely bedrooms here at the hotel. However, I am saddened to hear your comments in regards to your group's evening meal. Please be assured that this has been addressed with my hotel team and that we have also been in communication with the organiser.

I do sincerely hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited Wales for the first time and chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Motorpoint Arena. It is well located for that as well as the train station, shopping, and Millenium Stadium (if you don't mind walking about).
I was slightly disappointed when we arrived as the rooms looked much more modern/stylish on the website than in reality. However, in the other points that really mattered it hit all the marks - comfortable beds, hot water in the shower, nicely sized rooms, good food. I was glad we'd chosen the Business Class because the breakfasts including the quality of service (and wireless internet) were great. I thought it surprisingly quiet in the hotel considering its central location and so we slept well. Nespresso machines in the rooms were a perk as well. We ate in the hotel restaurant for supper only one night but found it a 4/5 as well, very good.
We did not use the car park, finding cheaper parking nearby, so can't comment on that. In regards to the business class lounge, agree with others that it's awkward, and the "free drinks" weren't of a great quality, but that was not a consideration in our booking in here, anyway.

Room Tip: Business class may be worth it for the free breakfast which runs a wide range of hours! Get fueled up in the morning and you're good to explore all day.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdyallRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for other travellers. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location being so close to the main attractions in Cardiff. Our triple glazed windows and few bedrooms on each floor ensures our guests can retire to their comfortable bed for a good night's sleep.

We have three types of bedroom designs available at the hotel - fresh, fashion and chic. If you would like to request a specific style on your next booking, we would be more than happy to assist you. Thank you for mentioning our Filini restaurant and super buffet breakfast. They are always highly rated so it is great to hear that you feel the same.

I do hope you will come again to stay with us on your second trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at Radisson's before, but in London, and this was slightly less appointed but having the same degree of quality service and cleanliness. Stayed in Junior suite which accommodates well for families. Having young children we didn't experience much of the facilities and relied on room service which Radisson's provide 24hrs. Obviously if you don't like city views you shouldn't be in Cardiff but we thought it was great and we could see the hills and the bay from our room. As junior suites often have families expect a bit of wear and tear. WiFi is free and excellent and two tv's in the room was great. I especially liked the placing of the large mirror which allowed us to see the children in their sofabed. Room service was perfect and the food excellent.Literally minutes from the shopping centre and five minutes from the train the weather didn't matter. The room is child friendly and had a large walk-in storage closet which was perfect for stowing the pram and bags. This could benefit from a light though. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your great five out of five star review! It is fantastic to hear your experience as a family with young children staying at Radisson Blu. Our location as you mentioned is ideal for venturing in to the shopping areas and easily accessible to/from the Cardiff Central train station.

Being the tallest and newest four star hotel in the city, you can truly appreciate the great views across Cardiff from our junior suites. They are also ideal for families as you mentioned due to the ample space, TVs and storage available. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed food from our Filini room service. Your kind comments will be passed back on to the hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews