We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to try harder at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very comfortable room, clean and modern. Sadly, when we visited we endured two days of travelling up to the twelfth of twenty one floors when only one lift was working. There was no evidence of lift engineers so perhaps there were parts on order? Doesn't sound like much but it meant considerable time wasted waiting for lifts that were travelling up and down in a seemingly uncoordinated fashion. The hotel were very quick to offer all residents compensation in the form of complimntary drinks in the reception area - much to the delight of a few who thought it a great opportunity to stock up in their rooms!
For me, waking each morning to a full English breakfast is an important part of our weekends away. Sadly the cooked breakfast was something of a disappointment. Though plentiful, the majority of food was luke warm and not particularly appetising. By contrast, the cold items, fruits etc were all fresh and looked much more appealing. The attendant staff were also very welcoming and helpful.
If you plan to arrive by car, be prepared for a difficult time parking as many of the spaces available are very narrow and not at all plentiful. One couple we spoke to in the lift had stayed before and on this occasion arrived by train rather than car for this reason alone.
The hotel's location is perfect whether you're there to shop or to take advantage of the pubs, restaurants and other city centre attractions.
Would we stay again? Well, this was our second time at the Radisson. Time now I think to try the Marriot or similar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlR-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend had an amazing night staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Cardiff. A stone throw away from the shops and restaurants, unbeatable location.

We never eat in/order room service from these hotels so can't comment on this. But this time we did enjoy drinks at the Filini Bar, stunning bellini cocktails and complimentary 'posh crisps' served with them!

Room interiors gorgeous, although I would say put enough complimentary shower/wash products in for 2 people! Amazing king size bed!

Lovely complimentary drinks, including tea, coffee, beer, juice and fruits and snacks available 24/7 down in reception.

Definitely was the cherry on top of the cake to our perfect weekend in Cardiff, can't wait to come back.

(Only downside, didn't see the point in standing in a queue for 20 minutes just to hand a room key in on check out! Process could have been speedier/more organised)

Room Tip: Remember shower products haha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F10Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Room was a nice standard but with views of train tracks NOT the city. Only one elevator for the entire 21 floor building was a massive pain! Upon check in, we had to wait for 5/10 mins, when getting to the front the staff member just walked off into a back office without apologising or saying "2 minutes" before returning after a few minutes wait.

Checking out took about 30 mins from leaving the room to leaving reception. 15mins waiting for two full lifts before carrying a heavy suitcase down 9 flights of stairs. Queuing for another 10, just to hand over some key cards. We left our bag in the "luggage room" to pick up later. When we returned we had to ask for a member of staff to help us as apposed to the usual approach of staff saying "can I help you". When we presented our ticket for the bag, the staff member rudely said "where is it?" Asking me to scan all the bags left behind the reception kiosks. It was none of them, or any of the bags in the luggage room. I was asked what colour it was, And he began to point every bag of that colour. Still wasnt any of them. Eventually he found our bag hidden in another room. It was simply dragged through smashing against everything. The staff member then walked off, with no apologies, eye contact or recognition I existed.

I stay in a hotel at least once every two weeks, this was the worst hotel I've stayed in on customer service basis.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pezzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The only hotel available during a rugby weekend - and that was not a surprise! Customer service terrible, although the room was comfortable and clean. Food in the bar area was stone cold, despite 2 attempts at it. Pointed out the 100% satisfaction guarantee (or your money back!!) to the staff, but they were not interested. TV was not working, and there were only 2 robes between 3 people - rather difficult. Breakfast was nice, although 3 people on a table for 8 was a bit too spacious! Service was slow but it was a busy time. Car parking was a nightmare, and involved having to reverse back out onto a very busy main road - we witnessed several near misses due to this manoeuvre. In all fairness, we were invited back by the manager after a written complain, to rectify matters, but declined.. no intention of staying in a Radisson Blu again. Have since been given a voucher for one night, double occupancy in a standard room, which is totally useless to a family of 3 who stayed 2 nights in a junior suite.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for a night out in Cardiff and were very impressed! We've stayed in others including the St Davids Hotel, Novotel and Hilton and the Radisson is hands down better than all of those...and cheaper to boot too. We had a business room on the 16th floor with a stunning view of the city and Millennium Stadium. Room and bathroom were spacious, with a big telly and a Nespresso machine, which had decaff coffee pods! Bed was comfy and the room was really quiet, didn't hear people in the rooms around us, even though the hotel was busy.
Breakfast was stunning, with a massive choice of food available, (and fresh decaff coffee too!) the only criticism being the peanut butter was a bit minging, a better quality one would be appreciated- by my anyway! We will definitely stay there again on our next night out!

Room Tip: High rooms are away from street noise and have a great view. Room 1601 is on a corner and has a dual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip with a few colleagues --we chose this on recommendation of our contacts based in Cardiff. We were not disappointed. Location is unbeatable....quick walk to the shops and restaurants. Rooms are very modern and spacious and service was very good. We were also very impressed with the breakfast selection in terms of quality and variety. Highly recommended and would stay again when am in Cardiff again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boop2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

What a lovely review! It’s great to know that we are continuing to impress business guests such as yourself with our sleek modern interiors, excellent service and delicious cuisine.

We hope you find an excuse to come back and stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Previously stayed here & rated the hotel very highly. Nothing has changed as it remains excellent in all departments except for the limited parking facilities & the absolutely dreadfull coffee served at breakfast which I also mentioned in my previous review. Staff super friendly & helpfull & if you book a business class room it fortunately comes equipped with a nespresso coffe machine so you can at least get a decent coffee in your room if not actually with breakfast. Excellent location being directly behind the John Lewis store & if you are in a business class room & lucky enough to be on a high floor you will also have magnificent views over Cardiff, still very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grumpydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I am so pleased that you have consistently rated us highly after staying with us. Our Business Class rooms have many personal touches and guests tend to comment on our spacious and relaxing bathroom areas. I am glad that you appreciated the Nespresso machine – it is great fun becoming your own barista.

We hope to dazzle you on a third visit soon!

Kind Regards,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $76 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing