We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments
Ranked #24 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Centrally located and well equipped but seriously in need of proper management, is how I viewed my stay in the Meridian Terrace Apartments. For a short stay, in my view better than a hotel, but sadly the finer details made the experience less enjoyable. The apartments are very new so the furnishing and equipment is in good nick and the linen new and clean. However the bathroom was a disaster area. It was damp and when the drain in the hand basin got blocked the reception staff said they wold report it, but 2 days later, when I checked out It was still full of dirty water. The design style is tasteful though spartan but there were some curiosities. For example if the bathroom door was open you bashed into it when you opened the front door.The brand new microwave in the kitchen worked fine but the Bolognaise made by the previous tenant was still on the door of the appliance. The price was good and I would use the place again for that reason alone, but the bad management takes the gilt off the gingerbread. If they don't attend to the servicing the place will get spoiled very quickly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building. The front is on a busy road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartrickL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 64 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Overall meridian plaza is a nice place to stay with a good location. The room was fine, clean as u would expect, in fact the only thing wrong with the apartment was the attitude the girls on reception had. They were not one bit friendly or helpful infact they didn't so much as lift there heads to acknowledge me each time I pasted. Very rude. They let down meridian plaza.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanelabelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Good value accommodation in the centre of Cardiff. Apartment was clean and well equipped. The only downsides were very slow wifi and only one thin pillow each on the bed, bring your own for a defent night's sleep. Would definitely use again when next in Cardiff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank reeferbeefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First time at the apartments, the location and check in procedure are excellent.
One consideration would be that I could not turn the heating down, but just opening the window/ sliding door onto the balcony solved this issue.
The single bedded studio apartment was adequate for our needs and all the amenities mentioned where in good working order.
I would suggest if you are visiting you phone after booking to request a balcony facing John Lewis if you are a light sleeper as the noise from the train tracks right next door could be a disturbance.
To echo the other reviews there is a Tesco express across the road and hundreds of bars / restaurants within a few minutes’ walk.
In addition Polite staff who very kindly stored our luggage upon check out till 2:00 p.m.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and have never been disspointed. The apartments varying from studio, 1 or 2 beds are all well appointed. Minimalistic perhaps, but if you visit the city of Cardiff, there will be no reason to be couped up indoors. Easy 24hr pin-access so safe and secure. Double glazed windows so nice and peaceful sleep when you eventually get back in. You will find everything you need in the apartment, fridge, microwave, kettle, all crockery & even some coffee, tea and sugar and if you want anything, Tesco is across the street. It is great especially if you have friends in the city and want to have them over for a few drinks and tapas before going out for the rugby matches, performances at the Mellenium Centre, etc. Book early as these places sell like hot cakes. The location CAN'T be beaten - right on the doorstep of Mill Lane & St David's Shopping Centre where Cardiff comes to life!! There is no reason to spend on a hotel room if you are out and about all the time - stay here!!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartments are great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtticFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

These apartments are in such an excellent location. We were visiting for the Rugby League World cup and the apartments are only 10 mins walk from the Millenium Stadium. There is no on site car-parking but there is a NCP car park round the corner ands its only £6 for 24 hours.
Brilliant shopping is literally right opposite apartments and its a short walk down to Cardiff Bay.
The apartment was clean and tidy, we had no problem with that. Yes, its close to the railway lines but with the windows closed we couldn't hear them. Plus, its a city centre, what do you expect!
The benefits of being in an apartment over a hotel are great, we took all our own stuff for breakfast. When exhausted on the Saturday night we just got some pizzas from the Tesco Express and cooked them ourselves and watched a film!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from the 25th-27th October we didn't know what to expect as neither of us have stayed in serviced apartments before. As I'm in hotel management I know what is expected ect. The greeting upon arrival was brill and they young dark haired girl behind the desk was super! We was given out keys early as we rang before check in and asked when the room would be ready after driving 300 miles we were shattered. The location is perfect tesco, shopping centre and restaurants directly opposite.
The apartment well were do I start 3 spotlights were out, the kettle was full of water and lime scale! The bed sheet and bath mat was stained and had holes in, I pulled down 2 cups and they were filthy looked like they had not been cleaned same with plates and pans. We couldn't turn off the heating and was far to warm but couldn't open the windows as the trains would keep you up all night. The shower screen wasn't clean. The rug wasn't hoovered the floor wasn't clean and had bits over it. The dust was unreal on skirting boards and under lamps.
All in all we could visit again
Just for the location however would take my cleaning product!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Cardiff
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing