We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, great apartment and facilities, shame its not very clean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, great apartment and facilities, shame its not very clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a 5 night stay in the studio apartment. Went prepared having read the previous reviews - so wasn't too shocked at the low standard of cleanliness in the apartment.
I put a pillow on the sofa while clearing something on the bed, and the pillow came away black/brown with dust/dirt!! So ended up laying newspapers on the back of and the seat of the sofa during our stay as I didnt want to get our clothes dirty too! The floor was unswept and was thick with dirt. The rug was a complete disgrace, it was caked with dust and dirt. The washbasin doesnt drain very well so had a lot of dried muck in it. Some of the towels had a layer of dust/dirt on them, maybe because they had not been replaced every time the apartment is turned over (i.e. probably the obviously used crumpled towels only get cleaned - any that have been left folded are probably kept untouched (but dirty!) for the next occupant). The bed linen didnt look too clean either, but we decided to ignore and make do with it as we werent sure if the replacements would be any cleaner.

Make sure you take enough loo roll (as they only leave a half used one to tide you over till you get your own).

However, apart from these cleanliness issues, the apartment itself is nicely laid out and furnished, has good facilities (dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, cooker,oven, waste disposal etc), and is in a superb location. We werent disturbed by the noise of the trains because a) we kept the windows closed as it was cold anyway b) we were on the 7th floor c) we were on the Radisson Blu side rather than the side backing on to the tracks.
We found the reception was always manned (even on a Sunday evening) and the staff were generally quite friendly/helpful.
Parking- cheap parking can be found at the Pellet Street NCP car park, about 3-4 mins walk from the apartment.
If I were to stay here again, I would take my own towels (and supplies of loo roll), plenty of wet wipes to get rid of the dust caked on the furniture. Also be prepared to sweep the floor and clean the crockery and cutlery (run the dishwasher) before using them.
Apart from the very low standard of housekeeping, I would probably still stay there again, purely because of the great central location - but not before checking out the price of the competition (Radisson, the Marriott or other serviced apartments).

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor and facing John Lewis/Radisson Blu are quieter. Take enough loo roll. Be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachiPoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    10
    3
    11
See reviews for
3
26
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a two night minimum block of apartments, in the city centre beside the Radisson Blu. We originally booked a two bed apartment for a 6-nations rugby weekend, which the managing agents changed with our permission to two one bed apartments. It is worth noting that the bedrooms have a small double bed (I am not sure whether you can specify two single beds). With a separate living room and well equipped kitchen, it works very well if you are likely to spend any period of time in the apartment. It is very near the railway station, but there is no parking although an NCP is nearby (£5 per 24 hours). So despite a rocky mattress, train noise from the neighbouring tracks (we were on the sixth floor), and generally poor housekeeping standards, the end result still proved to be very satisfactory.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ardara24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am restricted to a corporate reservation system when booking my business travel so when this one bed room apartment came up for less than most hotels in Cardiff I snapped it up.

I was not disappointed when I opened the door to find a large open plan living room/diner with an attached kitchen and an equally large bedroom. Whilst this kind of place does not have an onsite restaurant, that is no problem when you have dozens of eating places behind the John Lewis store opposite.

It was nice to have a real balcony to step on to, but you have to bear with occasional train braking from Cardiff Central next door - shutting the door minimises that - but it was a shame not to have it open for longer on a warm evening.

I really liked my apartment, it felt modern, open and a place to really switch off after a day of travel and meetings.

Reception was a bit weak on the welcome, pretty much handing you a key and pointing to the elevator. It is more of a 'self-serviced' place than 'serviced' but it compensates for this with great apartments - after all, reception for me is a place to collect my key and pay my bill.

There is a Tesco Express 200 metres away if you want to stock up the fridge if you're staying more than a few days, but I wouldn't bother if its just an overnight stay - perhaps a few things for breakfast to make things a bit easier of a blurry morning.

I rate this place - just book a high floor to block out the trains.

Room Tip: Choose street facing and high up to avoid any noise from nearby railway station - don't be put o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have used the Meridian apartments for the last 3 years to visit family over the Christmas period for a couple of nights. The apartments are centrally located opposite John Lewis. The apartments are fairly well appointed.

However this time we were disappointed with the standard of cleanliness as the floor was dirty particularly under the sofa and chairs, the sofa itself was full of bits under the cushions and had not been cleaned for quite a while.

In addition there are a few basics items that are not provided in the apartment that you need to be aware of :-

No hairdryer and none available to borrow at reception!
no CD/DVD player
no bath/shower gel provided
only 1/2 a toilet roll provided - so take your own

Kitchen:-
dishwasher tablet provided but no fairy liquid sachet for small amount of pots
no tea towel
no potaoto peeler

Given the favourable location of the apartments it is a shame that the attention to detail is lacking as these could be the perfect place to stay in Cardiff if you want the option of self catering

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambertruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights at these apartments in autumn 2012.They were clean,smart and have a great central location.However they do have a downside if you experience any problems or wish to make enquiries as they do not have a reception worth talking about.I arrived after 5PM and only got access to my pre-booked apartment because another visitor opened the safe so I could get my key. When I left behind some personal possessions by mistake I e-mailed the company to check if the cleaners had found them but I am still waiting for a reply three months later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigieBaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have been In Meridian Terrace for a couple of nights during the Olympic Games. Is a very option in Cardiff's Heart. You have a little clean flat, with Kitchen, little sitting room, WC and your room. You will feel at home. Is not posh, but if what you are looking for is relaxing is a very good option. You have to cross the road, to get the shops and pubs. You are 10 minutes away from Cardiff Millenium Stadium and just 10 minutes driving from the pier. They don't have Parking spaces, get ready to pay £20.00 daily to leave your car on John Lewis Parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at Meridian Terrace Apartments, Cardiff for 5 days, 23July 2012 to 28July. We chose to stay here purely for convenience to city centre as we were visiting family. They were comfortable. If you arrive by car they don't have a car park so you have to pay a daily rate in local car Parks which soon mounts up. To the Management some basic items are needed (at least in Apartment 53). Towel rail next to washbasin (theres room for one), there is a heated towel rail but it's across the room above the toilet. Hooks on back of bathroom & bedroom doors (for bathrobes). A floor mop as the bathroom floor pools with water when showering (dangerous). Otherwise look into repairing the shower door. Replace lightbulb in wardrobe, + 2 on bedroom ceiling + 1 on bedside lamp + 3 on Kitchen/livingroom ceiling, + 4 under kitchen cupboards (only 1 works). Only 1 clothes hanger in wardrobe, (asked for more & got them). only 2 pillows, (asked & got 2 more).
On Tues 24July we had no water supply for a number of hours, apparently the whole building was affected, it came back late afternoon.
A Lot of these issues are basic maintainance jobs which should be checked on a regular basis, the lightbulbs & clothes hangers & the leaking shower door the points in question.
I would recommend ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CYoung13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments

Property: Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Cardiff
Meridian Terrace Serviced Apartments Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing