We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Italian Restaurant”
Review of Gios - CLOSED

Gios
Price range: $14 - $76
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gios Italian Restaurant in Cardiff's City Centre is minutes walk from all Hotels, Train Station Millennium Stadium all Arenas and Theatres and is one of the best provincial Italian restaurants in the UK.Enjoy a typical Italian atmosphere, and if you are celebrating be sure to let us know! Find the true taste of Italy - Gio was brought up in a proudly Italian way: the atmosphere is still that of a family concern, unmistakably Italian right down to the cheeky young waiters and a formidable array of Amarone and Chiantis.However, Gio knows that at the heart of his success lies one very simple and basic ingredient, one to which he owes an enormous debt of gratitude - food.Gio and his team love providing you the best in fresh, modern Mediterranean Italian food prepared by his Italan Executive Head Chef Gaetano Monteriso, Aperitifs, Classic Cocktails and fine wines with a range of great places to dine including our 100 seated alfresco area you can enjoy a drink a snack or a full meal and watch the world go by. why not celebrate or hold your function - all under one roof!Buon Appetito.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great food, and very friendly staff. Absolutely enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    7
    6
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

great food, lovely people, go regularly. Always have a good menu to pick from

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kazmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, best seafood pasta ever tasted. Friendly staff who were great with my son who is 9.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Prices are very reasonable. Food is superb. Family run restaurant with all members of the staff friendly and polite. Would definetly go there again when I retrun to Cardiff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hopeNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
452 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Excellent meal yet again”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked here quite late really, but having eaten here several times before and never disappointed. We had a great meal (3 courses!) and 3 at the table 3 different starters and mains and all cooked to a great standard. I am not a great pasta lover but the spaghetti with mussels was delicious!! The service was to it's usual high standard and whilst the Boss (Franchesca) wasn't there Salvatore was the duty manager and the same high standards were evident.

Can't wait for my next visit! Will be visiting again in April to celebrate a birthday!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good atmosphere, food ok, far too expensive”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Did not expect to pay £35 for a set meal on a rugby day. Food was ok, atmosphere great, but we weren't made aware of the price & felt "ripped off" won't be in a hurry to go back & will go elsewhere for the next match.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gios also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing