We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great leisure facilities; excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great leisure facilities; excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in hotel before a meeting. The room was clean and comfortable and the wifi was reliable and fast. They have an excellent pool. The staff in all parts of the hotel could not have been nicer. They were all courteous and efficient. Colour scheme of their carpets is a bit hard on the eye but otherwise a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your recent review of De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel, and especially pleased that you found the team to be courteous and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    658
    392
    194
    124
See reviews for
355
837
51
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here before on recommendation and my own experiences on business trips before but very disappointed in my last stay. New restaurant Italian themed due to re-furb but appears prices have gone up to pay for the works asked for glass water and given small bottle then bill came charged £2.75...what? Food was hot and nice but crust on calzone pizza well over done and had to be left. Room was clean and tidy but had issues with shower which at night was cold and in morning a trickle and still flooded bathroom floor due to seal on glass door/bath not sufficient. Other work colleagues had similar experiences and won't stay again, shame as leisure facilities are excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Michael,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

Naturally, we are very disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your last stay, prior to opening "Vinny + Vito's Italian Kitchen" we conducted a price review around Cardiff, and the £2.75 price for a bottle of imported Italian water is reasonable in the market. We have some great offers in the restaurant, including 2 lunches for £12.95, 2-for-1 pizza and pasta days, and more!

As you can see from other reviews, we do not usually experience water pressure issues, and looking back on the date of your stay, I don't have any record of this being raised in the hotel, however I have passed your feedback on to the maintenance team to investigate further.

We hope that you will at some point give as another try, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having stayed in a few Devere Hotels I was not expecting to much from this hotel, however as the cost of this stay was comparable with a Premier Inn with the added benefits of having breakfast and a pool I did not feel I had much to lose.

Stayed for 2 nights in a Standard King room. I arrived a couple hours early and was surprised that the room was ready. The room was very big and had a sofa bed that could be used for 2 children or 1 adult.

The pool area was large and very clean all staff were very friendly. This Village has just had an update and the results are very good. Gone is the grill restaurant and in its place is a Pizza Pasta restaurant, the bar has been turned into a retro English pub and in the foyer is now a starbucks coffee shop.

This layout suits me (Devere keeping it simple) the food was simple but very nice the Bar was lively (Pub Quiz night) however friendly and reasonably priced. Starbucks was well Starbucks. Breakfast was a buffet type with plenty of food and lots of Honey (us Bears like Honey)

Have already booked another stay in August. I highly recommend this Hotel and if you stayed before the refurb and was disappointed give it another try

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Edward,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have shared your positive review with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but went for an evening party in the 'Vibe' room. Disco was and food were ok but the bar was poor. There was a very limited selection of beer and wine and the bar staff told us that if we wanted more choice then we needed to go upstairs to the pub bar, which was not an ideal situation when you're buying for a group of people. The wine was overpriced - a bottle of house white (which was not good) was over £16 a bottle and Sauvignon Blanc was £10 a glass or £30 a bottle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lovely hotel in looks, the upper deck rooms not worth the extra. The breakfast really good. The huge problem - the other ignorant guests who party, shout, swear scream at each other until 4am with no thought to others and the night staff do nothing to address the issue. Guests who go breakfast in pyjamas that are see through - big women. Save your money and go to a premier inn where you might get PEACE and quiet

Room Tip: Check with staff where functions rooms are and avoid the front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm glad you enjoyed out breakfast offering!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for one night as we were attending the Bon Jovi concert at the cardiff city stadium . This hotel is well placed for events here as its only 12 miles away by car.

We found the hotel really easily with the sat nav and is just off the motorway. Massive car park with plenty of spaces. We arrived at 2pm and were informed if we wished to check in early there would be an additional charge of £10.00 which i think is a bit cheeky. We decided to grab some lunch at the pub/restaurant in the hotel.
The service was a little slow and alot of tables had not been cleared from the lunchtime rush but the waiter did apologise for the wait . We ordered a pasta dish and a burger and fries and both were pretty good.
we booked in at 3pm and this was done quickly and efficiently and we were in our room with 5 mins of check in. There is only 1 small lift which had a line of people waiting for it so we decided to take our bags up to the third floor via the stairs.
We had opted for an upperdeck room. The room was very nice but can see peoples comments regards how dark they are. There is no central light just bedside lamps and a large lamp by the desk, a desk lamp and a light by the door . The room along with the hotel is really hot! The windows on the room only open about an inch so the room was very stuffy!! There was a fan to help with this. The upper deck room comes with satalite tv , starbucks coffees (which are sachets) mineral water in a glass bottle, toiletries to take home , a ipod dock by the bed and posh bed linen. The duvets and sheets are fine but the pillows are feather which i personally didnt like and had a bad nights sleep because of them. We didnt spend alot of time in the room as we were at the concert so literally used the room to sleep that night and have a shower so as nice as the room was i dont think we would pay the extra for upperdeck as i dont think starbucks sachets and an ipod dock justify the extra money. Also as the hotel is mostly used by business guests from 6am all you hear is the doors to rooms slam shut so no chance of a lie in.

we had breakfast in the italian restaurant and it was the usual cooked and continental selection which you helped yourself to buffet style. The only thing i saw which i didnt like was some guests had a small child with them who stood by the continental table and proceded to cough all over the uncovered food. I dont blame the hotel but the parents of the child but i have to say i was glad i had already made my selection!!

On check out i waited behind a guest who from what i could hear was making a complaint about something. When the receptionist came to deal with me she was clearly quite flustered and didnt ask if we has enjoyed out stay just asked the room number and said there was no bill to settle. I asked about the luggage tag we were supposed to recieve as we had stayed upper deck and was told they had run out. No offer was made to send me one once stock had come in and i was told to try entering " code unknown " online . I have tried and this did not work. I emailed the hotel directly the following day to request a tag so we could take advantage of any offers and stay again but have yet to get a reply.

All in all a good stay just a few niggles like the heat in the hotel and lack of luggae tag which need sorting out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm pleased that you found the location of the hotel to your convenience, and that you enjoyed your lunch in the victory pub.

Thanks for your feedback regarding the Upper Deck room that you stayed in, as you pointed out, it depends what the purpose of your stay is as to how much benefit you gain from these upgraded rooms, however I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience.

Unfortunately i have not received an online request for a luggage tag. if you can email me directly at simon.green@village-hotels.com I would be happy to get that over to you immediately.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for one night. The rooms are dated and badly need updating as well as a deep clean.

One night's stay was in excess of £100, not value for money. Save your money and go to a Premier Inn.

Staff are very polite but I can't recommend anyone staying here at the minute. One to avoid, there are far nicer value for money hotels elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sorry, not sure any rooms are worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Derverschollene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay, as you can see from the feedback on Tripadvisor, these are not thoughts that are generally shared by most of our guests.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future to try us again.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing