We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hen Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Hen Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm a little late writing this so please forgive me!

I booked the hotel for around 10 - 12 guests with a spa day and 3 course meal included.
The price was excellent as well as our welcome when arriving.
Hotel staff offered us to get what we needed from our bags for the spa and then allowed us to leave our luggage in their office so that we didnt have to cart it in to the spa whilst waiting for our check in time.

The spa was out of this world! We had the option of sitting and relaxing in the chill out area, we had full access to the facilities including gym (we didnt use this though as we wanted a lazy day!) the treatment was so nice that I nearly fell asleep!!

We went back up to get our bags after the spa day and they were exactly as we had left them - we collected our keys and went up to our delightful rooms. The only problem was we couldnt have our evening meal until 9.30pm - however we were quite happy drinking and having a laugh! We went for our meal when our table was ready and the food was delicious with plenty of choice - we had lots of dares we were playing at the table and the staff were really friendly and more than happy to help us with them!

Overall we had a great stay and my sister in law had a fantastic hen party! I've since been back for another 2 spa days and it's still as good as I remember!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rianon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    658
    392
    194
    124
See reviews for
355
837
51
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent,
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

It gives you everything a Village hotel does, but it's feeling a little grubby and worn e.g. cracked tiles in the bathroom, black mold in the tile grout and fittings worn. Tv pic quality poor and very slow wifi (but it is free). The Victory Bar menu was a bit chip fryer smelling. Not the best Village i have stayed in and it needs a bit of tlc, but staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Needmoreholdiays!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from two nights at this complex and was very impressed with our experiences. I had read that you can upgrade to the Upper Deck which I enquired about on arrival and this was dealt with extremely efficiently and was well worth doing. The hotel has a constant buzz about it, as many people come in just to use the excellent Spa and Gym facilities. Everywhere is kept very tidy and clean. The staff are outstanding, particularly on Reception where nothing seems to be too much trouble. A slight problem was dealt with quickly and I wish more people would bring little niggles straight to the people who can put them right straight away without using these forums to give negative feedback that in some cases clearly unjustified. Rooms on the Upper Deck were lovely....only slight comment I would say is a couple of proper drawers would have been nice. I would definitely recommend the Village experience to anyone thinking of visiting Cardiff as the location is superb. We travelled to the centre by bus one day and car the next and both experiences were easy. The lovely valleys are just up the road as well if you want something quieter. Would love to return to Village Life again some day.

Room Tip: The noise from the function room will keep lighter sleepers awake till midnight if you are right abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

the Village group of hotels seem to be just about right with most things, good arrival, god staff, decent and clean room, even decent meals in the bar or better ones in the restaraunt! also the Cardiff one has a leisure club, spa the works so as me old man once said....musnt grumble! the beds in the room are ok but ive had bettern nights sleep! so for business and pleasure its worth a stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night in order to attend the Wales vs Ireland rugby match.

Ideal location right next to the motorway. There is a McDonalds and Adsa 5 minutes away and the train station to Cardiff Centre is a 5 minute walk. Its then just 15 minutes to the centre of Cardiff.

Nice clean rooms, but a bit small. Comfy bed and Sky TV!

We ate at the verve restaurant which was fine. The Victory pub is very good and has bar meals and live sport. We didn't use it but the pool looked nice.

We would stay here again if we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-Le-Willows
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed this short stay at the the village hotel - it was a last minute booking to spare the family from the burden of looking after us as a pre Christmas visit
The hotel was sultry in design although we arrived late at night we were welcomed by a rather busy rowdy Christmas party
We booked a family room which was more than ample for myself my husband and toddler
Drinks were expensive
Breakfast was good hot With usual selection of things
There is a costa coffee in reception which I thought was good
We visited the swimming pool twice which was decent sized for a hotel pool

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family and I (around 15 persons in all) have been going to the Village Hotel for Christmas Lunch for about 5 years and last year was the worst (2012). They packed us in like sardines and then the service was very poor and the selection of food was the worst yet. They are cutting back on quality but not on the price. We shall not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing