We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night for a works do last Saturday. Reception staff we efficient and helpful, they directed us to our room on the first floor overlooking the car park. Lobby area seemed clean and welcoming. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and crisp linen. Bathroom was spotless with fluffy white towels.

The event room was prepared really nice on round tables seating 10. Food was very tasty and hot. Bar staff were quite efficient too. They also has a 'pub' style bar that served food which seemed to be priced well.

There is a swimming pool and gym here, but we didn't go as we had to leave at 10 am. Breakfast was the full deal, cereal, toast full cooked breakfast if required with tea/coffee readily available.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to anyone. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here, but I certainly had no complaints and was pleasantly surprised. Some folk must have exceptionally high standards. It's a good hotel with excellent access to the centre of Cardiff. Enjoy.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerjulWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    658
    392
    194
    124
See reviews for
355
837
51
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently had two nights' stay at this hotel. There was easy access to the hotel from the M4, and there was no traffic noise. Cardiff City Centre is within easy reach by car and by train, a train station being a 10 minute walk away. When we stayed, trains were going into the city centre every half-hour. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, and staff were very pleasant and attentive. There is a large lobby here, with the bar/restaurant leading off it, and also a Starbucks coffee shop. An added bonus is free WiFi throughout the hotel.
breakfast was the usual.....cereals, fresh fruit, juices, toast, full English and a variety of pastries. The quality of the bacon was excellent....the best I have eaten anywhere!
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had not heard of this hotel and wondered what to expect, but I have to say the service, room and food were all excellent.

OK, so there is no air-con in the rooms, even if you upgrade (for £10) as I did; however the whole experience is good fun. The bars are lively; full of business people mostly, but none of that depressing corporate ambiance you get on the big chains.

The experience is very contemporary and fun - much better than Marriott/Hilton old house fair. I enjoyed staying here.

Food the pub-side was superb; there was a curry special on with promotion on cheap lagers with plasmas all around showing the big PL game, so I was very happy.

Ladies on reception were exceptionally pleasant after what was for me a long day of work and traveling.

All good, wood stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade; it's only £10 and you get SKY and internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Village is a great base to explore the surrounding areas, as well as easy access to the city, public transport runs at about 10 minute intervals. We had an 'Upper deck' room, which was clean and well equiped (only let down...no hair dryer). Starbucks coffee/tea facilities in the room for your usage. Breakfast service was pretty good, my only gripe would be, that the 4 or five members of staff were grouped at the entrance, in a kind of huddle?. However, on a whole, very attentive staff.

We stayed here on the 30th Nov, to use as a base, to go into the city for a night out. The stay would have been faultless, if it were not for the fire alarm going off at stupid o'clock, and having to leave our rooms, head to the carpark, in sub zero temperatures, slightly worse for wear from the evening in town. But I won't hold this against this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper deck rooms are pretty good value, with great modern decor, and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in the upper deck for one night on business. I was impressed with the modern decor and extra touches like an ipod docking station and Arran aromatics toiletries. The bathroom however was a little dated and out of keeping with the style of the bedroom.

The service on check in/out was excellent. Unfortunately there only seemed to be one member of staff on breakfast service and she was completely overwhelmed by the number of people. A lot of the items were running low or had run out and there wasn't a great choice especially in relation to breads and pastries. If the management looked at this the Village Hotel would be first class.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had to ring three times the previous night to get a restaurant booking - in the end I went through reception who took the booking but failed to pass it to the restaurant! We were given seats though and our drinks order was taken. At 7:30, the restaurant was well under occupancy (around a third full) but we still had to wait and request our wine and water twice. The waiter told us about the specials board but it was not clear (apart from price) which were starters and which were mains, also the waiter did not know what the accompaniments were.
The menu was intriguing and we had a mushroom pappardelle which was very tasty with a good sauce - but could have been a bit hotter. I ordered chicken kiev which arrived looking burnt and unappetising; it was very dry and difficult to digest. To add insult to injury, the chips were al dente! I asked the waitress to exchange the meal and to take my friend’s meal to heat (whilst we waited another 15 minutes for the fresh kiev). The restaurant manager apologised and gave us a glass of wine (which we had to request a second time as they had forgotten). When the new meal arrived, it was OK, nothing to write home about but it could have been garnished with a sauce of some kind as it was quite tasteless and boring. My friend had turkey which was wrapped in an anaemic strip of bacon; however, the carrots were tasty!
The crowning glory was definitely the desert – a glorious sticky toffee pudding with cream. It was warm, and tasty with a good texture. I’m not sure about the whole hazelnuts on top but they did add some crunch.
The Verve is not in my list of good culinary experiences (and there have been many) and I would hesitate to return. There are plenty of good restaurants in Cardiff and the Whitchurch area and this restaurant is not doing much to gain any market share. If I was a hotel guest, I would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaghetti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Once I found my way off the roundabout and into the hotel it was a pleasant suprise. Very bright, busy hotel. Bar meal excellent and room well kitted out (although a bit on the small side). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompsons_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing