We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Shame about the decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Chester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Shame about the decor”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice hotel, Friendly staff. Super restaurant. Gorgeous pool/sauna/steam room/jacuzzi. But dreadful decor. My room had a black wall, black furniture and very little lighting. The window looked out onto a blank wall, so there was very little natural light. With just 3 heavily shaded side lights, it was very difficult to work with so little light. If you love sludgy colours and black, this is the hotel for you.
On the plus side, the staff were really friendly and the food was lovely. The lockers in the fitness centre require a £1 coin which I didn't take with me but the staff lent me a £1 to save me going back up to my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuesdayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    722
    418
    207
    130
See reviews for
390
941
56
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is what I would describe as bog standard to be honest. The decor is a bit depressing reminiscent of a jail! A few more brighter colours may help. I would have given it 3 stars but for the efforts of the staff. Providing colour pads and crayons for 2 bored youngsters and booking a great mini bus for us to attend a function elsewhere was all good.
But the best has to be Alwyn the breakfast manager, I asked for a table for 12 so my mum who was 80 that day could join us all for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble, seating all of us within 5 minutes, high chair and all. He is a credit to the hotel and we are really grateful to him.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulie0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for 2 nights as a last minute weekend away in early August 2012. We stayed in an Upper Deck Double room. On arrival, there was plenty of parking spaces free and the receptionists were friendly and helpful. The room itself, whilst being of average size, was impressive with the Starbucks tea/coffee facilities and a large screen tv including the movie channels and Sky+. We don't usually use the TV at hotels, however the purpose of our visit was to explore the Breacon Beacons and by the end of the day we were so tired that being able to relax on the bed watching a movie was just what we needed. The bed itself was incredibly comfortable. The only complaint we would have is the lack of airconditioning in the rooms, however once we had found how to unlatch the windows so as to be able to open them fully this was no longer a problem.

The hotel itself contained a health centre including a large pool and jacuzzi. There are several restaurants on site including Victory Pub & Kitchen which was perfect for watching the Olympics over a drink in the evening. In fact, one evening we shared the bar with the GB mens Olympic Skeet team, which was a nice memory for us.

There is a large terrace along the front of the hotel where we were able to enjoy our drinks whilst soaking up the afternoon sun. There is also a Starbucks on site opposite the reception desk, which is definitely a plus point for me.

We had a BBD deal and dinner was very nice. The breakfast was a standard hotel buffet with choice of hot food, toast, pastries and fruit. This was sufficient for us.

With regards to location, the hotel is not central to Cardiff. However it is near a petrol station and a large Asda. It is also just off the motorway which made it the perfect location for us as we were using it as a base rather than for a visit to the centre of Cardiff.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay here and would be happy to return if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just stayed here for a few days while my husband was here on business. We stayed in the annexe accomodation which hubby said must be timber framed as wherever you walk the floors creek! Room was basic, lovely large king size bed but it could have done with a much better clean. The cloth wallpaper was covered in dust and the vallance around the bed was torn. Bathroom had a bath and shower which pleased us both and was clean. However, considering the low cost for the room as we booked via LateRooms.com it wasn't bad. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and well cooked. Overall it was an okay place to stay mid week but the hotel does need some love as its looking tired. The free wifi worked fine and is clearly a hotel that is used by lots of business people for meetings etc. I did wonder why they have introduced the Upper Deck as I am led to believe from staff that people vary rarely upgrade to these rooms. Maybe it would be better to not make people pay more for things which in other hotels are standard ie...complimentary shower gels etc and biscuits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just stayed here with my girlfriends and had a fabulous time. Had the upper deck rooms which were really lovely, however, we were ladies sharing and did not expect the double beds! The reception were very helpful and organised some rooms with beds zipped together and single duvets, they also sorted out taxis to take us into Cardiff. We went to the Take That tribute which is great value with the meal. Good location for bus, train and supermarket is close by. This is the second weekend we have had there and we made use of the leisure facilities using the pool and the exercise classes which are included in the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a few nights at this hotel. The rooms were of a poor standard, paint pealing, walls dirty and dusty. Rooms very dark, decor oppressive. Creaky floor boadd. Bathroom dispensers rubbish. The main problem was the very loud party animals that decided to keep us awake two nights running. Loutish behaviour, shouting and swearing from lads, staff not bothered. Food is ok, nothing special. Basic breakfast. The beds are small but comfortable. The sofa bed, is old and needs a better mattress. Or even better have two double beds in family room, like the Hilton do. Then the kids don't suffer.
Generally staff quite nice, but not very helpful when you complain. Leisure facilities great. But not happy with paying nearly £200 for having a rough time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Recently organised a workshop here and was very happy with the result. The Conference team were excellent and kept in touch leading up to the event and were very good on the day. The lunch was good and the event area was very pleasant with drinks, cakes, etc., on hand at all times. The workshop was being run by an American company, with very specific demands, all of which were met, with no problem whatsoever. On top of that, every time I popped into the hotel to speak with the conference team we chatted over a free Starbucks latte courtesy of the Village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyghosthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.2 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,027 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
5.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing