We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only ones in the restaurant..”

Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 1,244 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in a magnificent glass structure on the bustling Cardiff Bay, Bosphorus showcases modern Turkish cuisine and European seafood dishes. As well as simmering casseroles and a sultan's feast inspired by the Ottoman Empire, guests can enjoy succulent cuts from the grill. Enjoy uninterrupted views of the water and the neighbouring quay from the dining room, or relax out on the jetty-style al fresco terrace.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only ones in the restaurant..”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited Bosphorus last year with my partner as we both love Turkish food very much! However it is not like traditional turkish food one bit! The evening went from bad to worse.
Firstly, we were the only people in the whole restaurant on a Friday night (the only good thing about that was we got to have a window seat to overlook the bay).
The food was not up to standard, came out cold and seemed it was out of a freezer. Also some of the staff were sat on the tables eating which I did not find very professional!
Would not recommend Bosphorus if you are looking for proper Turkish cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    175
    80
    50
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as an ice cream”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We chose this restaurant as it has a nice position on stilts overlooking Cardiff Bay. At the time of our family visit, Sunday afternoon, the restaurant was about two thirds full. We were greeted by a monosyllabic waiter and seated on a small table. The menu appears quite extensive and we all opted to order plates to share from the mezze selection. Service was slow. Some time after our initial orders the waiter re-appeared with the words "You order Calamari? No." We re-ordered and time passed. Eventually... the food arrived and I think its fair to say we were more than disappointed. A particular low was the Sardines, or sardine, that aside from being a technical breach of the trade descriptions act was slightly burned.

The final insult was that for the 15 plates of mezze that we had shared the restaurant had billed us for 5 orders of 3 mezze dishes (the most expensive permutation on the menu for ordering mezze). In fairness to the restaurant they did then agree to charge us at the most favourable rate, however, the food was still vastly overpriced for very poor quality.

Do you want to eat and enjoy a view of Cardiff Bay? Get an ice cream and take a walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rorcster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good seafood by the sea!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were looking for a not-too-cheap restaurant to do nice seafood, and we lucked out at Bosphorus. I started with Sardines which were perfectly cooked and lovely, followed by seafood kebabs which were delicious. My girlfriend had the salmon fillet which was simply the best cooked salmon we've ever had, as well as some very tasty halloumi to start. Coupled with the restaurant's setting on its own peir and pleasant waiters made for the perfect evening!

The meal around £90 including service so wasn't cheap considering there was only 2 of us, but we had 3 courses, a bottle of wine and a liquer coffee each so given the quality I think it's well worth the money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marxjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food in a fabulous setting”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The restaurant is on its own little pier with water all around, in which the lights of the bay twinkle romantically. The food is really good, and the service is friendly, efficient and attentive.
A great place to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshFromNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Post Theatre”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

After visiting the WMC to watch Wicked, we had booked a table at the Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant, Cardiff Bay, good job we did book, as it was very busy in there, I had the Mussels for starters 4 or 5 big mussels in a very tasty white wine sauce, We had the Kleftico for main course,
the Lamb was so tender and tasty, I wasn`t to keen on the herbs in the mash potato, but that was a personal thing, my wife loved it.
we have been to this restaurant a few times now, and always had a very good meal and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing