We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night out!”
Review of Mimosa Cardiff - CLOSED

Mimosa Cardiff
Cuisines: European, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mimosa is a friendly and relaxed restaurant in the heart of Cardiff bay. Ideal for a delicious breakfast on the weekends, a light bite for lunch all week and enjoyed by families, group parties and couples for dinner and drinks.We serve great food and superb cocktails and are proud of the welsh influence we apply to our menus.Becoming popular now for birthday parties, hen do's and even weddings!We have recently had a refurb and thank all of our customers for their loyalty and feedback.We look forward to seeing you soon in Mimosa.
Monkleigh, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good night out!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here on a saturday night as a party of 8, we had a nice big table in the window so we could see everything that was going on! It was a really nice place with a good mix of people, not to rowdy, not many big groups but nice and lively. The one guy that seemed to be the host/ head waiter was fantastic, really relaxed but friendly and funny and helpfull. The other staff were also very relaxed and friendly wich was a nice change, they still got there jobs done well. The food was fantastic, a fairly small menu, we had a vegetarian with us who finds it hard to get much variation or anything much exciting from restaurants but she had the falafel burger and said it was one of the best meals out she has ever had! All our food was fantastic, dont be put off by the basic menu, its all cooked wonderfully and was really delicious. Also the cocktails were great although the wine was a little expensive!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    78
    54
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decor from Hell”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I used to visit Mimosa every week if not for lunch , dinner or maybe a drink . It never was very busy but I always liked the place as the staff were always nice and a chilled vibe. Recently it has been bought and had an attempted refurb , which is dreadful to say the least. Whoever designed it has simply ruined it . It's just naff , badly finished and will look dated and shabby within 6 months. Total amateur , looks like they visited a second shop and just filled the place with crap. An attempt to copy The Cosy Lounge has failed miserably . Prices on drinks are high , but basic food menu is still reasonable . Last time I went there the chef came out of the kitchen and was drinking at the bar . To say his chefs white were stinking was an under statement . Also he looked as though he hadn't had a shower and shave for a week. Bit off putting. Pity this place has lost its chilled vibe as on weekends they have a DJ mixing tracks , which is crazy as its a tiny venue. Look elsewhere

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great food at a great price.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic. Great food at good value. Very friendly service. Great for breakfast, lunch and cocktails...highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bellablue516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
“Still as great!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After their recent refurb, Mimsosa is looking better than ever!
The bar is cosier and food just as brilliant. Wouldn't go anywhere else down the Bay.
If you haven't tried it.........go! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CardiffKate21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Was very impressed by our meal last night at MImosa. Just the right size portion and cooked perfectly. Best fish and chips in the bay! The staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy8t4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimosa Cardiff also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing