We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge pizzas, reasonable prices”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #253 of 1,232 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Cardiff Mermaid Quay offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. The restaurant is family-friendly, with particular attention given to children. Kid's Pizza Making Parties give kids the chance to design their own pizzas while having fun. Vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free options are available.
newport
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Huge pizzas, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited here as a pre-theatre thing and was really pleasantly surprised. Gorgeous fresh pizzas, great selection of wine, good service, nice atmos and great spot overlooking the bay. Would very much recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niamunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    198
    81
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service really good”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Felt I had to try and counteract a previously bad comment because my boyfriend and I had amazing service. I know it might be more difficult with a large group but nevertheless the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. I would certainly go there again. The food also was amazing as only Pizza Express could be. I do eat posher food than just pizza so don't anyone think I'm just an ignorant student.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 726LucyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food but slow”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food but service really slow. Even with mostly empty restaurant , they still managed to mess up out order. When it did come, it was fab. Maybe new staff ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good, honest pizza etc freshly made - as always, I love the garlic doughballs. Puds are good too! Nice views of the Bay from the restaurant

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gen443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Ok........”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The sevrice was very bad. We had a large group booked for a party, and we had to wait for half an hour for the previous large group to leave. There didn't seem to be enough staff in the restaurant, and we had to wait quite a while for each stage of the process. Overall, disappointing. :(

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing