We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Travelodge has improved this hotel from good to excellent. The beds, pillows and duvet are comfortable.
If you require additional towels, coffee, teas etc, you just ask. The bonus of free parking.
Superb location for visiting Cardiff. Access to the Atlantic Wharf is easy with all it's restaurants.
The Millennium Centre is five minutes walk away. What more could you ask.
You can catch either a bus or train direct into the city which are both frequent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for 1 night because we were going to see War Horse in the Millennium Centre. We live in S Wales but this hotel worked out cheaper than taxi fares to our local train station and return train fares, so that's value for money in my book.

Seemed quite strict on check in times, we arrived shortly before 3pm and quite a few were waiting in the lounge area as they had arrived early. Our check in was quick and efficient. Room clean, bed extremely comfortable, bathroom a good size (no loo brush and shower curtain could do with changing though, some soap build up appearing at the hem), nice shower, plenty of hot water. A small complimentary bottle of hand/body wash but there is a Sainsbury Express supermarket opp the Mill Centre so visitors can stock up with necessities there quite cheaply. Did not use any other facilities ie dining room, room service so can't comment.

Added bonus was free parking, your car park ticket is validated by a machine at reception when you leave - not many city hotels that I have been to offer this and is a great saving if you're staying a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have previously used this Travelodge as the location is particularly convenient. However the standard of comfort and cleanliness has recently improved from acceptable to excellent. It would now be my first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Very good accommodation and very good staff. Great value for money. Very comfy room. Can not fault this hotel at a. Free parking at red dragon centre. Bus stop outside to take you to the centre of Cardiff or. 5 minute walk to millennium centre.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location for all Cardiff Bay activities (Doctor Who Experience first on our list) just across from Cardiff Bay station. Very short walk to Millennium Center and TI, little bit further to travel through time & space with The Doctor. Pretend you're dropping in on Torchwood in front of the fountain. Catch the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour in front of the TI. Lots of restaurants along waterfront and something we did not know about beforehand...Ianto's Shrine.

Hotel staff all very friendly and efficient, especially the gentleman who took care of us at breakfast. It was nice having the bar handy after a long day sightseeing. Room very clean and did not seem crowded with a double and 2 singles. I don' t know why a lot of hotels call 2 double beds a family room, our grown kids need separate beds. Our only complaint was a hot, stuffy room. We know AC is not standard outside the US but a fan would have been appreciated.

Ryder Family
Colorado USA

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Room was new and modern had tv attached to wall opp bed
Bed was so comfortable I slept through the night
One thing to note-the casino makes a fan noise throughout the night although when the window was shut you couldn't hear a sound
The staff are very welcoming and friendly
The all you can eat breakfast was amazing - First time we tried it and was well impressed
The hotel is a 2 min walk from the Cardiff bay, and a 10 min walk from the city centre.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank genal-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights on the 4th floor of this hotel. Our room overlooked the main road at the front so leaving the window open at night was not an option. The room was boiling hot, and as you walked down the stairs you could feel the hand rail get cooler around level 2. Who needs lovely 10.5 tog duvets in that heat. Having said that the beds were very comfortable, and the location was excellent.
The directions for finding the hotel would have been fine if junction 33 of the M4 was open, but it was shut so locating the hotel was a bit tricky.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $63 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing