We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights - really nice refurbished hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms are lovely and clean, liked the décor, fab bed. Brilliant location for Cardiff Bay and really easy to get back in to the City centre. Car park has plenty of spaces and is free if you're staying in the hotel. Would highly recommend. I will definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    414
    110
    29
    29
See reviews for
274
531
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A recently refurbished Travelodge, with welcoming staff and nice rooms. The location is excellent, a short walk (10-20 mins) from the city centre and only 5 minutes to the waterfront. A bit expensive at weekends but relatively quiet on the Saturday night that I stayed.

The car park is not easy to find, but is located inside the Red Dragon Centre parking (first exit from the roundabout by Chiquito's) - take a ticket and validate it at Reception. You can also stop on Hemingway Road (second exit from this roundabout) by the front entrance to the hotel, with some parking spaces available across the road.

Atlantic Wharf makes a very atmospheric jogging track in the early morning - take the path off Galleon Way by the apartments. Access to the waterfront is by turning left out of the Hemingway Road entrance and left at the main road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock. Staffs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have had two nights in this hotel this week. The parking was fine, plenty of space on the Red Dragon car park. Our ticket was validated on departure, so cost us nothing, which was very good. The hotel itself looks fairly new. The reception staff were very good on our arrival, they gave us a map of the area, which was really useful all of the holiday, as we had never been to Cardiff before. Its location to the bay area was great, around a 5/10 minute walk. There were lots of bars and eateries there. We walked into the city centre one day, which took us around 25 minutes, although there are buses which stop right outside the Travelodge and they are every 10 minutes. The rooms are fine, what you would expect, tea and coffee etc, but no other frills. The bed is king size and sooo comfortable. If you can get a room on the roadside it is better, as you have a view up towards the city centre, but the other side just looks over the side of the Red Dragon complex walls, not so good. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was fine. The only gripe of the stay was that the plates you had to use for your cooked foods was stone cold, which obviously made the food go cold very quickly. Perhaps a plate warmer would be a good idea?
As mentioned in lots of other reviews, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prycey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just arrived back after staying one night at this hotel.Great location with lots of eateries just a few minutes walk away.Room nice and clean and in good condition.Comfy bed.Tea,coffee ,towels provided.Free parking in the Dragon car park.Staff friendly and helpful.Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I were part of a large group staying on 28 February and were delighted with such close proximity to the Millennium Centre and Bay area. We had intended to go out for breakfast as mass produced buffets can sometimes be unpalatable, but upon checking it out, it looked so good we "ate in" and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. Late night bar and snack service was fast and efficient too. The staff, without exception, were attentive friendly and helpful. When our bus departed, several of them came out to wave us off. The rooms are basic - but were clean, and all we needed was somewhere to sleep, shower, and hang our clothes. We have booked for a further weekend later this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We requested a twin room - so required the sofa bed to be made up. We were told on checking in that this had been done. Got to the room and it hadn't. Spoke to reception who apologised and said it would be sorted while we were out. Returned after midnight to find it had still not been done. Had to share double bed with friend. In the morning noticed a large stain on the unmade sofa bed. Joked that it looked like wee. Then my friend sniffed it. Disgustingly, it was urine.
It was disgusting and neither of us would ever stay in a travelodge again after this.
There was also no hair drier, phone or basic soap/shower gel etc, no toilet brush (can be awkward when staying with a friend!)
The breakfast was fairly poor too, especially for the price. Hardly any fruit or healthy cereals, limited cooked items, scrambled eggs were rubbery and salty.
Only positive comments I can make are that the staff were friendly, the bed had clean sheets and was comfortable, and after complaining, waiting all day for a phone call, eventually calling them again myself, they offered a full refund of the room and told us the room had been taken out of action until the problem had been fixed, and they were very apologetic.
All a little too late for us though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Verity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We've stayed here several times before when going to opera at Wales Millennium Centre as it is less than 5 minutes easy walk. We booked several months in advance when we booked the opera tickets and got a double room for £38. Generally clean and comfortable, very good bed, room clean. bathroom starting to need a bit of attention round the sealant as usual, but shower was good apart from an annoying shower curtain that wanted to stick to you. I would advise asking for a road side room if you are affected by noise, as there are big air conditioning units on the red dragon centre side which are annoying all night (last visit). This time we rang to ask for a road side room and all was fine! We've only suffered from very noisy guests once in around 6 visits, all at weekends, when they had a very large group of young men, but usually noise levels are ok. A good option if you can get a cheap rate, but when it goes above £60 see if somewhere else is available as it is definitely no frills. Didn't try the food, as we never do in travelodge after some grim experiences in the past.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing