We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Sound for University open day reconnaisance trips, Travelodge chain places can vary widely in quality. This recently refurbished property is presumably a bit of a flagship - clean, tidy and with friendly helpful staff. Parking in the Red Dragon complex is free if you remember to get your ticket validated at check out - which I forgot to do. Young lady on desk had the commonsense and initiative to ask where I was parked so validation done and all well.

Breakfast perfectly decent and good value at £6.65.

A bit of a trek walking to city centre but there is a Park and Ride across the road if you've booked out and are spending the day in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver87_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a Leonard Cohen concert and couldn't have asked for more. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean, car parking was free, the breakfast was good and ALL the staff were friendly and helpful and great at multi tasking. The situation is great for the bay and also within easy walking distance of the city centre. If we return to Cardiff we will certainly be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himandher17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is brilliantly appointed for Cardiff Bay and the city centre.
The room was pretty clean (although I did find a pair of disposable contact lenses in the but side cubby hole) and, like most budget hotels basic but comfortable.
The hotel is situated in a large entertainments park so, in close proximity you have a 24 hour casino, a cinema, a number of restaurants, a pub and a bowling ally.
10 minutes walk away is Cardiff Bay and about 20 minutes walk is Cardiff City centre.

The staff were all super friendly. The bar was pretty well as was the reception area.

Only complaint was the noise from the AirCon units at the 24hr Casino to the rear of the Hotel.
We were on the third floor in an even numbered room and, even with the window closed, all you could hear all night was the drone of the air con units (even through really well fitting earplugs!!)

Other than that, I think I would stay there again. Next time though I will ask for a room facing the considerably quieter road :o)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the back of the casino if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilackitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and while our stay was good in the height of the hot summer our room on the top floor was like an oven.
Location is good although from the centre of Cardiff your satnav will take you all round the houses, the walk into Cardiff takes around 20 minutes but is pleasant.
There are plenty of places to eat in the retail park this hotel is located in and its location is close to the excellent Atlantic Wharf.
Typical Travelodge clean comfortable and excellent value.
Parking is free just get your ticket stamped at reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

3rd time I have stayed in this Travelodge,it has just had bedroom refurb.
its a brilliant situation from motorway off j 33,no through city driving,free parking,easy walking to city and the bay.will return again,there really is no need to be paying more money for a clean room/shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank mandyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently refurbed, big clean room with a huge double bed, free parking and only a couple of miles from town (taxis aren't too expensive in Cardiff), great value for money all you can eat breakfast (cereal, yoghurts, croissants, OJ, tea & coffee, good quality full English..the works basically) and friendly, happy staff. We booked way in advance having got tickets for the Aus v England cricket ODI. £23.50 per night for the room!..Sale of the century..give it a whirl, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: It you're with friends and you want twin beds, make sure you request them or you might end up ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely hotel & Nice staff.. Two issues,

No air on, limited opening windows, air unit under windows that sounds like an airbus accelerating :(

Reading lights bust, not a huge problem to us.

Great place if it had any viable form of cooling

Room Tip: Do not visit in hot weather, or if you sleep with windows open... Otherwise good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Duncan292, we are sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. Our windows have restricted opening for our customer’s safety. All of our facilities should be in good working order. The hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $66 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing