We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice job Travelodge !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel, this is the first of the newer Travelodges I have stayed at and to be honest i am impressed. The room is airy and the fittings are not luxurious but very functional, beds are superb. TV is just the right size for the room. Bathroom is very well laid out and I love the wet room shower, makes you feel very secure and safe when showering.
Breakfast was very good but could have done with being hotter, though this is the only complaint I have about this hotel. In a good position to get around Cardiff, bus stop right outside.
Nice Job Travelodge !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming reception, efficient but chatty, seemed genuinely interested in me. The room was spacious and airy and the bed was so so comfortable. Although I was going to Cardiff City I prefer to stay in the Bay as it is so easy to drive to and the hotel is only a few minutes walk to train station where there are trains every 15mins into Cardiff.
There is amble parking, which is free if you stay at Travelodge, or if you spend £5 in the Red Dragon Centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0-Melvina-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels particularly travelodge. Unfortunately no air con but every room equipped with a fan. Excellent beds, good effort travelodge. I'll be back again and for longer.

The site has free parking right next to station to town. Worth trying

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is one of the better maintained of the brand, the staff are efficient, friendly and a great source of local knowledge.
the rooms have been updated in the last year since we last stayed and the beds are incredibly comfortable!
the location of the hotel is superb for Cardiff Bay, positioned in a leisure park so easy access to restaurants, casino, cinema etc. with a speedy train ride or boat trip (£2-£3) to get to Cardiff town itself
however it suffers the curse of all travelodges SINGLE SEX GROUPS, Travelodge need to train their staff better to cope with these guests who are so hell bent on having a good time they give no thought to the other guests at 3am when they come back drunk, screaming, shouting and banging on doors
another trip tainted by this

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent two nights in the Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf. The first was hot, sweaty and uncomfortable. The rooms do not have air conditioning - only a window and a fan, and the fan in our room was not in a fully working condition. Every now and again, it would slow down, then grudgingly re-start. We asked for another, but there were none available.

Everyone found sleep difficult due to the hot, airless nature of the room.

The bath was small and not spotless on arrival. Even worse, at breakfast on our first morning, i was handed a stack of crockery and one of the plates was coated in caked-on food waste from a previous meal. It was replaced immediately with an apology, but should not have been offered in the first place.

Breakfast - cereals, cakes and the makings of a full English breakfast - was adequate but not spectacular. Car parking is free, but needing to validate the exit ticket each time you want to drive somewhere can become tiresome.

The main advantage of the hotel is its location, a few minutes walk from all the good things on offer in Cardiff Bay. Other than that, it was overly hot and uncomfortable in the summer heat.

Room Tip: Bring your own fan if warm weather is forecast for Cardiff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointed with the temperatures in your room Meo M, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans as you are aware of. We do expect for our facilities in the rooms and the bar café to be clean; we will ensure our Hotel Manager is made aware of your feedback so they are able to address these issues at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with my husband and two grandchildren We thoroughly enjoyed our look around Cardiff Bay. Atlantic Wharf Travelodge was the ideal place as our base. Clean quiet lovely bed and good food Excellent all round. Will come again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Tonyglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The room is very basic but is very clean and tidy. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. They also send someone up to the room to see if everything is alright and to see if you need anything like more milk or tea bags. The hotel is situated in the middle of cardiff bay so the attractions of cardiff bay are very close. Cardiff bay train station is 100m away and is right opposite the hotel. Also the cardiff airport express bus passes the hotel which you can get on if you are using the airport. The food is very nice but a little bit pricy. I would reccomend that when you book the hotel that you add the meal deal for £10 a person. Overall this is a very nice hotel !!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $60 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing