We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Travelodge at Cardiff Atlantic Wharf is in the ideal location for anyone visiting Cardiff Bay and its many attractions - Wales Millennium Centre, Dr Who Experience, Techniquest, Red Dragon Centre - and is only a couple of minutes walk from any of them, as well as from a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and cafes. Parking is free too, which is an added bonus. I stay here at least two or three times a year, but on my latest visit was delighted to find the rooms all refurbished, with new and extremely comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

After staying in various travelodges, and might i add payed more and had some not so good experiances. I would highly recommend this travelodge i found it Clean,free parking (with a good size car park) and right by the attractions i wanted to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Friendly staff, room spotlessly clean and tons of free parking.

Best Travelodge I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many.

Loads of places to eat on the doorstep.

If you don't mind the walk the city centre and train station is only about a 20 minute brisk walk.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank DT_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in family room which was clean and well presented. All staff encountered were helpful and friendly. Lifts to all floors with on site bar/restaurant open at delegated times and where breakfast (if ordered) is also provided on a self serve basis. Parking is immediately outside hotel which is free if you get your parking ticket verified by reception on departure. Location is excellent and within walking distance of the Bay area which offers attractions such as Techniquest, Cinema, Bowling Alley and various dining options. Bus stop conveniently across road if you want to head into Cardiff City Centre. Accommodation consisted of comfortable and clean double bed with pull out bed settee, desk area, tean and coffee making facilities, tv etc and en-suite bathroom with sink, toilet, bath and shower.

Will definitely use again on next visit to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymro_Cymraeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This Travelodge is in a fantastic location, and all of the staff are really friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great value for money.
This is our 5th Visit and looking forward to making a return visit next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is your standard fare Travelodge with basic bed, a small TV, kettle, a tiny hand soap, and not much else. On this occasion, we requested a family room which converted the sofa into a bed suitable for a child.

The bathroom had a definite smell about it which put me off a bit and the tiles could have been a bit cleaner.

Outside, we saw two pigeons fighting over a rat corpse.

On the plus side, breakfast fare was a bit lackluster, but plentiful and the staff were friendly.

It is also very close to Cardiff Bay, making it convenient for the Doctor Who experience, but not that close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p011y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We always stay at this hotel in Cardiff Bay, which is good value for money. This visit was even better, they have spruced up the rooms making them really fresh . This isn't an old hotel anyway but what a difference. The beds are the best change, they are so comfy. Can highly recommend to anyone who wants a functional clean hotel that doesn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaylib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park | Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $58 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing