We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but some strange features”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in a twin room, was tiny but good for a few nights. There is a lovely view, good breakfast and the beds are extremely comfy. However they have tried to hard to make it look funky and modern, for example the bathroom door is made of frosted glass and the toilet is situated right behind the door. So when someone is sat down the other person can see. Surely they should have thought that if people were staying in a twin room with bunk beds and not comfortable sleeping next to each other in a double bed, then they're not going to be comfortable with a frosted glass door! Also as it is frosted glass there is no lock. The shower is a wet room which means the entire bathroom gets wet when someone takes a shower. If you shower in the evening it will be fine again in the morning but until then your feet will get if you need to go to the toilet! The only mirrors were in the bathroom near the ceiling so if you're short like me you can't see in them! Also it means you can't look in the mirror whilst doing drying/straightening your hair. Despite this it's a good hotel and in a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloé M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Owner at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thanks for your review. I thought you would like to know that we have listened to our guests and decided that privacy is more important than the funky design. We’ve added an obscure film to the frosting on the bathroom glass doors making them completely non-see through. The first floor has already been completed and the rest of the hotel should be done by the end of February.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 864 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked in as we were coming by train and wanted somewhere close to the station as we had an early return home in the morning. The receptionist was very efficient and we had room 209. We went up in the lift and as you come out there's a fire door opposite with 209 on it. It took us a couple of minutes to work out that we had to access the room via this door - reception lady didn't tell us - but I think it reduced the noise from the corridor from other guests.
The room was very smart, bright colours and contemporay design and very clean. The bathroom was located on the left hand side of the room behind an angled wall with a frosted glass sliding door. This is where my dislike of the room design begins. Despite being with my husband for 17 years - and I'm sure this would be the same for ANYONE else - we REALLY DID NOT need to be able to see each other on the loo, albeit in a hazy 'cataract affected' way. I sincerely hope that the moron who came up with this idea is pointlessly breaking rocks in the middle of nowhere as punishment.
Would I stay here again? Give me a room with a REAL door and I'd book straight away but other than that someone else will get my money. Sleeperz - sort this and you r customers will stay more than once.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in '5' overlook the railway station at the end of the corridor. Rooms ending in...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFoodie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Owner at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thanks for your review. I thought you would like to know that we have listened to our guests and decided that privacy is more important than the funky design. We’ve added an obscure film to the frosting on the bathroom glass doors making them completely non-see through. The first floor has already been completed and the rest of the hotel should be done by the end of February.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Greeted by helpful friendly young ladies.
Room small but perfectly form with lots of space saving gizmos.
Tea and coffee in room.
Tasted self service selection in the morning.


I really liked this place, clean and function. I went to a gig and this hotel was perfect for access to the centre and train station. I would happily book if I was taking the missus too.

Great VFM too!

Highly recomend.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Not necessary - all good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked two rooms at the last minute, got to Cardiff and couldnt stay with a friend so needed somewhere quick. This was convenient as it is right next door to the train station and the city. The rooms were small but perfectly fine for us. The shower was a wet room which seemed to flood the area around the toilet but as we were only there one night I didnt mind. One thing I found odd was the toilet door was opposite the bed so when I wanted to use the loo my room mate could see me on the loo (the door is frosted but you can see enough!).
This was all fine but the worst part was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night. We all went downstairs but the staff didnt explain what was going on and talked among themselves. I heard another person say something about someone smoking in their room but we got no explaination when we started to go back to our rooms.
Overall it is cheapish and the staff when we booked in were nice. I wouldnt recommend this place for more than one night but if you need something near the station it is next door.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank SamJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend, we travelled by train and were surprised how close it was to the station, really handy! Our room itself was quite compact however it had everything we were needing! Great city centre location close to the pubs / clubs, restaurants etc. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooche86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Spent the night here prior to early departure from station with luggage. Very good location, close to town / library with free Internet for flight check in. Easy walk to John Lewis & restaurants for dinner, and to St David's Hall for pre trip performance. Would recommend. Friendly and helpful staff on reception.

Room Tip: We went for large double room - plenty of space, even with three suitcases
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaWales_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked in by work . Location very handy for station and shopping centres. Staff very helpful and room ready before booking in time. Room small but had everything needed for a short stay. Clean and modern but showing signs of a little wear and tear here and there. Only minor complaint was the heating was operated by the room key so it did mean the room was chilly for quite a bit. The heating is by an aircon unit so it is a bit noisy. The compact bathroom/ wet room was modern and the shower hot and with decent pressure. Gel and soap are provided by dispensers . In the downstairs reception. is a nice seating area and bar and the breakfast is a help yourself buffet with ample choice. They offer a range of evening meals but we headed out elsewhere. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending or staying at the Sleeperz again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fledermaus2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $57 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing