We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for a weekend in Cardiff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great base for a weekend in Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sleeperz is a modern budget hotel. The rooms are tiny but well designed with a sleek wet room. The decor was fresh and the hotel felt clean and bright. Location is ideal for the Millenium stadium. The staff were all friendly and helpful when we stayed and breakfast was good value. This is a no fuss, no frills hotel which compares favourably, in my opinion, to chains like Travelodge which can seem very dated.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    315
    141
    43
    34
See reviews for
59
302
107
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

this hotel is very light glass ervery where room was very small if you are sleeping next to the wall there is frosted glass where the loo are who ever you are sharing a room with can hear very thing that you are doing hahah hardley no where to put your cloths if your young slim you will manage very well

Room Tip: A/C does not work room very hot less than a foot from the wall to the end of the bed need to be slim
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Second time at this hotel with its quirky small rooms, I love it here. Yards from the train station and the city centre its perfect for shows at Motorpoint and events at the stadium.

Got a free upgrade on arrival due to a small mistake at reception which was nice. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Top tip for people driving here, avoid the NCP's - its 18 quid a night. Park in the car park right in front of the hotel, its only 9 quid.

Room Tip: Book direct from their site - only paid £45 for B&B, which was cheaper than late rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Sleeperz is in a great City centre location and easily accessible to all the attractions in the Bay. Staff are really friendly and efficient. Rooms are very funky - lots of bright colours with a Scandinavian style finishes. So it was a pleasure to have something a bit different from the bland big chain offers. I liked the communal style breakfast area as this encourages conversation. The rooms are compact but cleverly designed and at this price gave good value. I was a bit worried about noise but found that it was'nt an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 1 night in July 2012. The room was very small but clean and the reception staff were very friendly. The hotel is within steps of the train station, which is very convenient if you are arriving by train.

Unfortunately, the bathroom is a "wet room", which means that when you take a shower, there is nowhere to put your clothes if you want them to stay dry (the options are to put them in the sink, on the toilet or on a very thin glass shelf). I made the mistake of putting my *very light* pyjamas on the glass shelf. The shelf came crashing down and shattered into a million pieces on the floor. Also, the sliding door that separates the wet room from the rest of the room is see-through, so you can see the silhouette of whoever's in there (on the toilet or what have you) from the main room.

After we'd left, I discovered very itchy bites in areas of my body that had only been exposed that night. I see I am not the only one to mention bed bugs at this hotel, and I have experienced them before. So sadly I am 99% certain that there were bedbugs in this room (don't remember the room number - on the 4th floor, I believe).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanvitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleeperzMarketing, Director of Sales at Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We take all our reviews and feedback very seriously and are happy for our guests to express their opinions; however, in this case we feel the need to respond publicly. As soon as we saw this review as a precautionary measure we checked all rooms in which the guest may have stayed and did not find any evidence of infestation at all. Just to be 100% sure we then engaged the services of a recognised pest control company to do a full investigation of the room that the guest occupied and their report confirms that the room is free from any form of bug infestation. We understand that the review was written in good faith and it is very difficult to pinpoint the source of bites especially when you have been travelling/exploring a busy city. Kind regards from the team at Sleeperz Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlemmermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rooms are too small, feels like the bathroom is on top of the bed. The breakfast was quite expensive.

In all, a decent place to spend a night or two tops, on the way to some place else, if you are staying longer, l won't recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not get the rooms at the end of the hallways, they are the smallest, you cannot even walk around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmesft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and thought the hotel was great. Yes the room is small but when on a city break you are only using the room for sleeping. Bathroom is small but well laid out! Great location, 2 min walk to train station, parking also a 2 min walk. Pubs and shopping are also right on your doorstep. I will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Property: Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Address: Saunders Road | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing