We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-equipped apartment in good location for Cardiff Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Century Wharf Serviced Apartments
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well-equipped apartment in good location for Cardiff Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked this one-bedroomed serviced apartment in Century Wharf (Lyon House ) through A Space in the City. Apartments vary so check out carefully what you are going to get. If a superb river view, a dishwasher or storage space matter to you, ask for them. All flats have a numbered outside parking lot. The flat was very clean, spacious and had very effective heating and sound insulation. If you can't do steps very comfortably, there is access to the lift via a wheelchair ramp and also via pedestrian access to the undercroft parking area. These apartments are a good alternative to a hotel if you are planning a longer stay close to the WMC (theatre) and the Assembly .All the facilities of Cardiff Bay are at walking distance through the up-and-coming suburb of Butetown.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a flat with a river view as the alternative is quite dismal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatheranne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This apartment was not as the photo shows! We paid over the top to stay in a superior apartment for two nights rather than staying in a hotel. The photo shows the apartments looking over a river, the view from our apartment was another apartment block! The inside of the apartment was spotlessly clean and had nice moden furnishings.

The apartment is ideally located to all attractions, there are a good selection of restaurants only a short walk away. The shopping centre is a longer walk but you can get the river boat for a small fee.

We wasn't happy that the owner charged us for paying by credit card, we wasn't aware we were charged until we received our credit card bill!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJW_DJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Century Wharf apartments but it wasn't quite as good as the first.

The penthouse apartment itself was really nice and was very nicely furnished. They are in a great location but it was slightly let down by one major thing - the bed!

When staying in a luxury apartment you expect a luxury king size bed but we got a small double that was quite uncomfortable - more Argos than John Lewis!

Despite the bed everything else was great and I can recommend acityabode and century wharf apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our overall experience of this accommodation was very good. The apartment is nicely positioned, not too far from the bay to walk and in a complex of flats, both residential and holiday lets. It is spacious and modern with all the appliances and extra bits you need. The only down side is that the bathroom smells slightly damp, and there is a slightly funny smell to the apartment(or there was when we stayed there) but other than these it is lovely and we would stay again.

Room Tip: There is no view of the river so don't stay here if that is what you are drawn to and it is a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashlightHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Booked via late rooms. We got the room very cheap. Its really close to Cardiff bay like 5mins walk would highly reccommend clean neat and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrscozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was worried about using acityabode after reading some reviews but the whole experience was a good one with no hitches. We were contacted beforehand regarding arrival times, we arrived early and called the number and the rep was there in under 5 minutes to meet us and take us to the apartment. He was very helpful and friendly and directed us into cardiff, which was a 15 minute walk from the apartment to the Motorpoint arena. About 10 mins to cardiff central station. The apartment was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. More than what we needed for our 1 night stay. Would highly recommend! The parking was good which I reserved beforehand for £7.50. Being in a secure complex it was the perfect place to leave your car.

Room Tip: reserve parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived to find that there wasn't a reception area but you were meeting the landlord at the car park....this did put us off a bit but as soon as we got talking to the landlord he was really nice and showed us everything that were needed to know. As soon as we got into our apartment we were really happy, great big bed and living area and a 40 inch tv with a dvd player, great for a chill with a glass of wine in hand :) You got to park your car underground in the basement so you knew your car would be safe. Also the apartment were only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Definetly would stay here again, great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Wharf Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Wharf Serviced Apartments

Property: Century Wharf Serviced Apartments
Address: Dumballs Road, Cardiff CF10 5FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Hotel Class:5 star — Century Wharf Serviced Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Century Wharf Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Wharf Serviced Apartments Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing