We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostel Experience!”
Review of The River House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Everything about this place was marvelous. When we got there, Charlie was there with a warm welcome and helped us out when we couldn't use our swipe card (Note: they only except cards with a chip or notes). He let us pay the next day when we had the right amount. Our 4 bed mixed room was a bit small, but doable. The bathrooms were very clean, but it was strange they didn't have towels to dry your hands.. But other than that it was great! There was free wifi, tea&coffee all day and you could access the kitchen anytime you wanted! The first night we were there Abi and Charlie cooked us a homemade meal for a pound (which was absolutely delicious), and had free dessert the night after. Breakfast was great, there were various juices, crossaints, yogurt, cereal and toast. The overall atmosphere was wonderful and everyone staying there was super friendly. However, the only downfall that my boyfriend and I had experienced was something that no one could have prevented so I do not blame Charlie&Abi one bit. There was a group of French students who were very obnoxious and inconsiderate during their stay. They made me feel very uncomfortable while showering (it was a mixed bathroom) and didn't follow some housing rules that they have set for everyone. Other than that was a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Its quieter on the top floor! The stairs are a bit narrow, but not as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knightmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

It is right front of millennium stadium, walkable distance from high street, city centre.
6 dorm bed 21pounds a night (include breakfast!) clean and nice showers. nice kitchen, living room and garden. its not a huge hostel but surely cozy. breakfast can be the best quality breakfast at hostel standard. 3 kinds of serial, 5 kinds of drinks, yogurt, fruits, 3 kinds of bread etc. and not tesco basic quality. impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leethebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel which is situated near train station taking five.mins walk. Remmemd it badly. The staff are so nice and the aura is so good.They provide freeulled wine and pies for free. The shared room is nice and cheap which costs little pounds. They have a lovely cat as well. Awsome!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hostel had modern features in the bedroom and bathroom and kitchen, but in a house like building that had the old European charm. The TV room was comfortable and homely and the kitchen was awesome and clean. I loved how the bathrooms in each floor were all in a mini wing and clustered together and most of them had the sink/toilet/shower combination with enough space to do jumping jacks (not that I did any). Location was great--quick walk to/from the rail and castle. Additionally every night the staff makes dinner for 1£....and it was delicious.

Room Tip: I was on a hunt for Castles around Wales, unfortunately the staff was only familiar with the few nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I love this hostel. Abi and Charlie were amazing hosts and Charlie put together an amazing curry dinner. It was the best curry I had the privilege of eating in the UK. Also, the included breakfast was a wonderfully spread of food. The rooms were clean and roomy and the mattresses were comfortable. Any and all questions we had about Cardiff were easily answered including buses. I couldn't recommended this hostel more!! Thank you, Abi and Charlie.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancinFosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed just one night and loved this hostel, we wished we had booked longer!! It was so nice and homey it felt like you were staying a friends nice house.The staff were super friendly and helpful giving us a map and advice on what to do whilst in Cardiff. It was clean and had proper bathrooms not like cubicles we are used to seeing in hostels.The free breakfast was amazing!! Throughout our travels through Europe this is by far the nicest hostel we have come across. A++

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful, clean and quiet hostel. It is very centrally located and easy to get to from the bus or train station. Clean bathrooms and showers with plenty privacy. Towel rental 2p with 8p deposit but really NICE towels! Storage lockers in rooms (bring your own lock) which could accomidate a small carryon, back pack etc. Larger bags can be left in the office as the stairs are quite small.

The bed mattresses were ok. Clean but a little thin. Nice linens.

Note the stairs are small and this place is 4 stories high. If you have mobility issues I would discuss with the staff. The only thing that was not ideal is that we stayed in the 4 bed female room and the bathroom was 2 floors below. Not a big deal but just keep it in mind.

Strong wifi. Beautiful dining area, comfy living room.

The staff at the Riverhouse were amazing. I had to leave at 6am to catch a flight and the night staff even got breakfast out for me before I left.

Room Tip: some rooms are further away from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Address: 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: $21 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The River House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River House is a city centre hostel in Cardiff near all the main attractions. This award winning Cardiff hostel has a selection of mixed shared room, female shared rooms, family rooms and private rooms. All guests get free wifi which is everywhere, a huge continental breakfast and a great central location. The hostel is run and owned by a local Cardiff family who can give advice about nearby attractions and help make your stay a welcome one. There is a bed and breakfast, homely feel which is helped by a fully equipped guest kitchen, a dining room, a lounge with hundreds of TV channels, board games and 150 DVDs you can watch for free. The River House has won many awards and has been voted the best hostel in Wales since 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Backpackers Hotel Cardiff
The River House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing