We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for elderly travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The River House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ideal for elderly travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in May 2012. Very clean and quiet. Staff makes sure that things are kept orderly in the kitchen and elsewhere...loads of rules and do's and don'ts. Not a very friendly atmosfeer. Enjoyed it as we are an elderly couple,,,but I think it must be a bit restrictive for young people!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietJbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Hi,
We do not believe a set of basic house rules is over the top. In fact, it is the reason why guests love our well run, clean and organised hostel, keep coming back to us and would see your comments as a plus. Thanks for staying and we welcome you back your next trip to cardiff : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    59
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
52
131
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having just completed the Welsh Three Peaks, I was looking for a place to shower and crash. I couldn't have picked a better place - centrally located, friendly folks and reasonably priced.
My only issue (no-ones fault!) was the only bed spare was in room 7 - 2 flights of stairs! I've climbed enough! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

River house Backpackers is like a home away from home. It's in a large terrace house and as soon as you enter the hostel it is like your part of the family. We were in a four bed room which was on the second floor over looking millennium stadium.

A lady that was in our room was raving on about the breakfast which we were pretty excited about and damn it was good! Such a large arrangement of food available.

The hostel has obviously put in alot of efforts with the bathrooms looking brand new and spotless clean.

I must admit it was a little bit noisy at night with the room next door yelling and opening and closing their doors like crazy but hey, it's a hostel these things happen.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed with a few friends for a couple of nights during April 2012.

Pros:

-Cheap
-Excellent, central location
-Clean
-Modern
-Friendly and helpful staff
-Complimentery breakfast
-Free and secure luggage room
-Seperate ladies rooms

Cons:

-Three flights of steep stairs which could be a problem with a heavy suitcase
-No off road parking

Very happy with the hostel and would most definitely recommend it to anyone and stay again myself.

Room Tip: Separate ladies rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJL115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've stayed here twice: once in August '09 and another a couple weeks ago (April '12). My first experience was excellent -- as others have mentioned, it feels more like a bed & breakfast than a typical hostel. The hosts are unfailingly friendly. The location is also fantastic. Unfortunately my last visit was not quite as good, due to the late-night noise from the dining room area. The staff is still amazingly friendly so no issues there, but I do think they need to better prevent the late-night post-bar crew from keeping the party going at 2am/3am/4am as they did on both nights during my last stay. My friend & I were in the private twin room on the 1st floor, which is only a window away from the dining area, so maybe that's why we had such a bad experience. We had to go out and purchase earplugs which still didn't block all the noise, unfortunately. There were drinking games going on -- people talking at full volume -- obviously pretty hammered. It would be one thing if the noise was due to people coming & going -- that's going to happen at hostels. But if the staff allows people to party at all times of the night despite quiet hours supposedly being between 11pm-7am, there's really no point in posting the quiet hours is there? Unfortunately I won't be back but I still support what they have going on here. The staff just needs to find a way to extend their friendliness into preventing late-night insanity.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ronchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The staff are very nice. They provided us a city map after we have checked in. We can put our luggage in the store room. Unlike other hostels, they has a room and you can lock your luggage in that security lounge on the 2nd floor of the hostel. :) The bathroom are clean and you can locked your door when you are using it. Every night at around 7:00p.m., they have free snacks or even meal for the residents. We went there on Monday, and they served us with hot delicious apple pie with ice cream on it. Then, on Tuesday, they have lasagna. They have a nice decorated and clean kitchen and everyone washes their dishes after using it:) The free breakfast is nice too!!! (different kind of drinks, milk, cornflakes, bread and jam, pie, fruit) We lived in a 4 bed bedrooms, the bed are clean!!

SUM UP: nice hostel..because clean, friendly staff, nice meal, nice stay!! just 18 pounds a night!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivy123ivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very much had a good experience here with me and my sister. This place doesn't even remind you of a hostel, but rather a very quaint B&B with a wonderful and welcoming staff like Charlie and his sister, Abi. They always try to make their guests happy and I loved the pizza night! During your time there, they try to have little social nights to get people together. It really did feel like home with their renovated kitchen and backyard facilities. Bless both Charlie and Abi for their wonderful hospitality. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House Backpackers

Property: The River House Backpackers
Address: 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The River House Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River House is a city centre hostel in Cardiff near all the main attractions. This award winning Cardiff hostel has a selection of mixed shared room, female shared rooms, family rooms and private rooms. All guests get free wifi which is everywhere, a huge continental breakfast and a great central location. The hostel is run and owned by a local Cardiff family who can give advice about nearby attractions and help make your stay a welcome one. There is a bed and breakfast, homely feel which is helped by a fully equipped guest kitchen, a dining room, a lounge with hundreds of TV channels, board games and 150 DVDs you can watch for free. The River House has won many awards and has been voted the best hostel in Wales since 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The River House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Backpackers Hotel Cardiff
The River House Backpackers Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing