We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The River House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Impressed!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have just this weekend stayed at the Riverside backpackers with a group of friends for a weekend away and it was a really lovely place to stay. Iv'e never stayed at a hostel in the UK so didn't really know what to expect but it was very clean, modern and homely. The owners Abi and Charlie were very welcoming and with touches like a lovely breakfast included in the price and ciders and nibbles layed on in the evening to get everyone mingling, I highly recommend this for group weekends, hens, stags etc!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    60
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
54
131
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

No wonder this 'backpackers hostel' has won awards!

As well as having a freindly relaxed atmosphere, it is spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained and cared for. I stayed in a 6 bed female room that was quite spacious. (The only minor issue I had was the bed sqeeking when i rolled over!).

Charlie and Abi really take pride in providing a fantastic venue and service and are very cheerful and friendly, helping wherever possible. We were even treated to cake!! :)

The location is fantastic, only a 5 minute walk from Central station... and another 5-7 minutes to Cardiff Castle and the main shopping area. Across the river form Millenium stadium, so great if you have an event to go to there.

This was definately a 'home away from home' and if ever I return to Cardiff I will stay here!

Thanks Charlie and Abi.... I had a great time. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hostel had managed to get everything right. It's really clean, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen has all the appliances you need, there's free wifi and is in a really good location. On top of that, there is the best hostel breakfast I've ever had. As well has cereal and toast, there's yoghurt, croissants, raisin toast, juice, fruit and berries. On my first night there was a free pizza night, with not only pizza, but fresh salad and garlic bread and on my second night Charlie bought a chocolate cake for everybody. This place has smoothed all the kinks that most hostels have, definitely stay here, it's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is the best hostel we have been on our trip to the UK! Very friendly staff, clean rooms and the breakfast is just perfect... Great thanks to Abi and Charlie for everything! We will return...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Me and 3 friends were going to the MJ tribute concert in Cardiff and didn't want to spend big bucks on a over priced hotel. Just before the concert I had to be operated on my leg and needed a place to stay close to the stadium so I didn't have to walk all the way. Glad we had chosen this one.

Can't believe they still call this a Hostel. In short word, best hostel I have seen in my entire life! Been to a few in Australia, NZ & Asia. Never seen anything more clean, new and comfortable. They helped me with getting all my stuff up and even suggested to get a room closer to the ground (even though everything was fully booked). Great location, very close to the stadium, city center, bars and clubs. Breakfast was abnormally large and very good. Free wifi and even a superb shower! Big rooms, lockers and great new beds! Definitely a place worth staying, if you want value for money this is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed here for two nights when settling my daughter into Cardiff Uni and I can`t wait to stay here again,The place is spotless and so friendly-more like home. Breakfast was brilliant with so much choice...Szilvia and the team could not have done more to make my stay the most pleasant. The showers were clean and efficient and beds comfortable even if the guy across from me snored louder than ME! Close to the city centre and railway station with great position near the river and park. Fully booked on one of the nights I stayed...says it all!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beancrock59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were quoted rates for a group of under 13 rugby players, really looking forward to going to Cardiff to play rugby against a local team. We had organized everything then were told by this hostel that the rates had more than doubled. They tried to make all kinds of really embarrassing, lame excuses but we have an email with prices for exact dates, not much you can deny there. In the end they just put the phone down. Never again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
This is a review from a travel agency . We quoted a price for a group booking . We clearly told them they would have to book within 1 week. They called to book 3 weeks later and were quoted a different price . This is not a guest review so I'm a little perplexed on how this review can be valid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House Backpackers

Property: The River House Backpackers
Address: 59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The River House Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River House is a city centre hostel in Cardiff near all the main attractions. This award winning Cardiff hostel has a selection of mixed shared room, female shared rooms, family rooms and private rooms. All guests get free wifi which is everywhere, a huge continental breakfast and a great central location. The hostel is run and owned by a local Cardiff family who can give advice about nearby attractions and help make your stay a welcome one. There is a bed and breakfast, homely feel which is helped by a fully equipped guest kitchen, a dining room, a lounge with hundreds of TV channels, board games and 150 DVDs you can watch for free. The River House has won many awards and has been voted the best hostel in Wales since 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The River House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Backpackers Hotel Cardiff
The River House Backpackers Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing