We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, well-presented, impeccable service.”

Thai House Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, well-presented, impeccable service.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were taken here by kind friends with whom we shared the 'Fit For A Prince' menu. The food is so lovely you just want to keep eating. The portions are very generous but we, nevertheless, gave in to the temptation of pudding. I'm glad we didn't miss out this course as they were all beautiful. I had the 'EasternPromise' which was lovely and I am assured that the banana fritters are the best anywhere!
We'll be back for more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefoodandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    169
    62
    56
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“average food, awful service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really excited about this restaurant and chose to go there on my birthday as fancied a Thai Green curry. Looked good inside and staff all wearing tradition Thai dress.. unfortunatley this is where positives ended. Even though restauarant was very quiet on a wednesday evening - they seated us 3 foot from the only other diner.. In the menu in bold lettering is a declaration that you must spend a minimum of £17.50 per person.. really? does that really need to be said? are they besieged by people going in and just ordering the prawn crackers?. I tried to engage the waitress by asking if there was anything she reccomended as it was our first time here? I thought her disinterested monotone response summed up her level of boredom really well, that was untill she actually started looking at her nails while we were ordering..and even completed some low level maintenance on them.. the starter was average and the green curry was actually quite nice but wont be going back..and neither will you..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Letting Thai food down”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Living locally, hadn't eaten here for several years. For the prices charged we expected the food to be prepared from scratch but it certainly didn't seem to be. Rubbery fishcakes, tough and odd tasting beef, two virtually identical sauces on two different dishes, lack of heat and depth of flavour we associate with Thai food.

Cardiff continues to be let down on the eating out front.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Thai House is not cheap. However, it is worth every penny. The food at the Thai house is about as authentic as it comes having eaten a lot in Thailand. I have to admit, from it's position i didn't expect that much, but was extremely impressed. The crispy duck they claim people "come miles away for" is a MUST as well as the lemongrass and green tea sorbet as a pallet cleanser. Could not fault - a real gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRed100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Should do it more often!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited on a quiet weekday night. Initially was a bit dissapointed with their seating etiquette - all premium tables were left empty and couples were stuck into corners. Had the set menu B for 2 and were really happy with our choice. Loved the Miang Kam (Do it yourself leaf parcels) a taste explosion in the mouth I never experienced in Thailand - fantastic! Good sized portions. Very good quality food. Most of the staff were friendly. We have no idea why we don't go to Thai restaurants more often!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Restaurant also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Thai House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing