We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich-Spa
Level Contributor
663 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Not the Best Premier Inn”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with several relatives as we were attending my daughter’s wedding in Cardiff. Customer service was Ok/average. The young lady who was on reception on Friday night was polite but not particularly friendly. Staff on later shifts were a little bit more friendly though
On Friday night wakened by noisy guest walking to their rooms at about 1:30am.At around 2am somebody banged on a door on our floor so loud for about 10 mins-must have woken most people up.! So not a good night sleep!!
Sink in bathroom did not always deliver hot water in the mornings on time for a shave

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPTLebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the noise disturbances you encountered throughout your stay.

Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
124
81
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband and 15 year old daughter in a family room which was very clean and well presented. The beds are always rather firm but the pillows are lovely and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was prompt and quite delicious even though there was only one waitress serving.
My only criticism would be with the Brewers Fayre for an evening meal. On ordering our meal we asked how long the wait would be and was told 45 minutes, a waitress walked by and announced that it was one hour! We never wait that long anywhere, so we left and found Pizza Hut next door, which was fine. The Brewers Fayre was busy but not full so we were perplexed as to why there was such a delay. As we walked out another couple followed us.
Overall I would certainly stay there again as it was quite central to Caerphilly and good value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tomlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We all stayed for a wedding the staff were helpful in getting us rooms together . Very convenient and good, helpful service from the staff. The breakfast was excellent. Evening meal was very good but avoid not the steaks, they were tough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitsunegari
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our family of four stayed in July, and arrived late afternoon to a warm, friendly welcome. The room was clean/tidy and had a good sized TV. There was no air conditioning and it did get hot in the room – but this was alleviated by the fan provided. Only downside was breakfast, although not very busy there was only one member of staff serving. The few plates available were dirty and there were no clean coffee cups/mugs. We had to wait over 30 minutes for our cooked breakfast and only received it after asking where it was, we couldn’t complain about the service as the young lady was trying her best and quite clearly needed help in serving all the guests.

We have stayed in quite a few premier inns over the last 2 years and have not had any problems with the accommodation; however, service at breakfast usually lets the stay down. When first seated we are asked if we want to place a cooked breakfast order right away or in a few minutes – Experience tells us to give the order right away as the coming back to take the order in a few minutes seldom occurs and staff have to be prompted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsunegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely place and very helpful and friendly staff. Bed a little lumpy but good sized room and quiet with parking. No landlines in the room. Hairdryer in the room. Soap dispensers in the large bathroom and towels.
I liked the location as ideal for me visiting family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would recommend then this hotel book early as it does fill up if you wish to get the cheaper deals. hotel clean friendly and helpful.

Restaurant was disapointing due to poor managerial control over the staff

Will go back again as it is good value for money as long as you get those deals

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller999989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

best budget hotel in Caerphilly. beautifully clean, both the hotel and restaurant. Refurbishment meant a much bigger television, but would have preferred a great big bed.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a big bed don't have a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerphilly
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
2.7 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
5.6 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
Address: Crossways Park Parc Pontypandy | Pontypandy, Caerphilly CF83 3NL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Caerphilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep like a prince or princess at the Premier Inn Hotel Caerphilly Crossways, in the home of Wales' largest castle - one of Britain's most impressive fortifications. You'll be in a prime location for Cardiff city centre, watching rugby royalty at the Millennium Stadium or staging your own grand tour of the spectacular local scenery. And when it's time to hang up your crown for the night, make for our great value restaurant and fit-for-a-king, extra-comfy beds. Important info This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: M4(J28) take A468 towards Caerphilly. Pass through villages of Machen, Trethomas and Bedwas. At roundabout on right after Peters Food Services Factory take 3rd exit. Next to Crossways Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: St Fagens Heritage Site Caerphilly Castle Historic Site Millennium Stadium Events Caerphilly Train Station 1.5 miles Cardiff Airport 18 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Crossways) Hotel Caerphilly
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing