We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable base for Caerphilly and area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for a 2-night weekend break - our first at a Premier Inn - and found everything satisfactory. The receptionists were all friendly, cheerful and chatty; our room was a decent size (bigger than at some other, more upmarket hotel chains) and bissfully quiet, despite the hotel's location just off a major roundabout. As for the bed, the mattress was the best I've ever encountered - bliss! We didn't try breakfast at the adjacent Cedar Tree (having to eat in a different building could be a disadvantage in bad weather) but did eat there one evening when we were too tired, after a long day, to walk into Caerphilly. Prices were indeed budget but the food was fine and service prompt and pleasant. The walk into Caerphilly is a little boring and it was difficult to cross the roundabout outside the hotel, but we can recommend the castle and the Italian restaurant Bella Capri. There seemed otherwise to be very few places to eat apart from pubs. On the basis of this experience we would happily stay at a Premier Inn again, whilst preferring a hotel with an integral restaurant and with breakfast included.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Supergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 436 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting relatives living in the northern suburbs of Cardiff, on a weekend with a Rugby international taking place, so all the Cardiff hotels were booked up. Very pleasantly surprised with this Premier Inn.

Easy to get to - right next to a roundabout where the road from Newport meets the road to Cardiff. Nice big car park with plenty of space. Hotel rooms are on 2 floors - we had a ground floor room. Our room was a very good size, with a very large bed - both larger than in nearby hotels that cost much more. Moderate size flatpanel TV with good range of satellite TV channels. Bathroom also good size with bath and shower. Everything clean and tidy. Pretty quiet too, even though the location is near to a couple of large roads (and our room faced those roads).

We prepaid for breakfast - which was good value for £7.50. Full English hot breakfast, with porridge available. Plus a reasonable range of bread, pastries and cereals. This was all served in the Pub next door, just a short walk from the hotel main entrance - note: 8am start on the weekend days - 7am in the week. The pub also does evening meals at budget prices, but we did not sample these as we dined at our relatives' house.

Nothing fancy, but good value and well worth recommending for anyone wanting to stay somewhere on the north side of Cardiff. It brought home to us just how improved budget hotels are in Britain in the last 20 years or so. No poky rooms or dodgy plumbing - clean & tidy with all the facilities you need.

We can recommend the walk in to the centre of Caerphilly to visit the castle - second largest in Britain and with a dramatic setting, surrounded by lakes which act as huge moats. The walk is just over a mile and is easy going on a level road. Note that the castle does not open until 11am on Sundays.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel just for a night whilst we were in the area visiting family. We had never stopped at a Premier Inn before but after having bad experiences with similar chains (travel lodge/holiday inn etc) we were not looking forward to it! However, we were very pleasantly surprised - the hotel is situated just off a large roundabout but we found it very peaceful with no traffic noise (or any other noise) at all.

From the outside, the building looked fairly new and modern and the welcome at reception was excellent - friendly and efficient. We were given a non-smoking family room on the ground floor - exactly as we had asked for. The room was excellent - spotlessly clean (which we have never found in similar chain hotels) and seemingly newly decorated. The child's bed had been made up already (we've had to do this ourselves in the past) and there were extra pillows already provided. There were plenty of tea/coffee/sugar sachets - we didn't have to ask for anything else which was definitely a first.

The bathroom was a very welcome relief - sparkling clean and we could even get a shower without being scared that the shower curtain would touch our legs!! (the last budget hotel we stopped in we had 2 room changes due to disgustingly dirty and stained shower curtains!)

Breakfast was served in the pub/restaurant adjacent to the hotel which was a really lovely space and suited all of us - mainly buffet style with the cooked breakfast being ordered and served after we'd had our fill of the cereal/fruit and pastries!! Very good value too as kids eat free.

All in all we had a lovely nights sleep here and will definately be using this hotel again - budget chains take note - this is how it's supposed to be done!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I agree with the previous reviewer, that this hotel in in a convenient location. It is a little more worn than the other Premier Travel Inns we stayed at in the UK during our 2 week stay. As with other PTI's, the windows are safety chained to only open a few inches and we found our room to be uncomfortably warm.

We really enjoyed the Carvery dinner at the adjacent Cedar Tree Pub. We had carved pork, beef and turkey, along with excellant Yorkshire Pudding and dressing balls, with a potato/vegetable buffet. This was a very great dinner at a good price.

The Caerphilly Castle is worth visiting and the bakery across the street from the Castle provides a nice rest following the castle visit. The hotel is about a mile North of the Castle.

In summary, we were glad we visitied Caerphilly, loved the dinner at the Cedar Tree Pub, but were slightly disappointed by the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Classof64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

It's a tall order for a hotel to keep three generations of anyone's family happy, but the Cedar Tree Premier Travel Inn managed it admirably.

The beds were comfy, everything was clean and in good order, staff were welcoming and helpful. This is a budget hotel in a very convenient spot if, like our group, you needed easy access to all the major routes, Cardiff, M4 motorway and points north. It also has a bus stop outside which will get you into the centre of Caerphilly in minutes, from where you could jump on a train and be in Cardiff in 20 minutes.

I can't personally vouch for the newly refurbished carvery and pub alongside, but I can say that the locals are beating a path to its door, so that must speak volumes. Apparently the best time to arrive is between 12.15 and 12.30. So now you know!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fleckchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caerphilly
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
3.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
643 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
4.8 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Manor Parc Country Hotel
Manor Parc Country Hotel
#32 of 74 in Cardiff
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel

Address: Corbetts Lane | Mid Glamorgan, Caerphilly CF83 3HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Caerphilly County > Caerphilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caerphilly
Price Range: $60 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grab yourself a slice of the action at the Premier Inn Hotel Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) - a great choice whether you're in the area for big business, top entertainment or world-class heritage. Your sightseeing menu could include the amazing Caerphilly Castle and Castell Coch. You could satisfy your appetite for the city with a trip into Cardiff. And, if it's the right time of year, why not tuck into the incredible Big Cheese Festival or BBC Proms in the Park? And when you've filled up on fun, return to our on-site pub and comfy rooms. Directions: Exit M4(J32) towards Merthyr Tydfil on A470. Exit junction with A468 to Caerphilly. Continue on A468 to Penrhos roundabout, take 2nd exit to Newport. Continue to the Trecenydd roundabout, go straight across. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is behind the Cedar Tree pub. Transport and local information: Caerphilly Castle Historic Site Caerphilly Golf Course Millennium Stadium Events Caerphilly Train Station 1.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 newly opened meeting room, which can hold up to 14 delegates. Directions: Exit M4(J32) towards Merthyr Tydfil on A470. Exit junction with A468 to Caerphilly. Continue on A468 to Penrhos roundabout, take 2nd exit to Newport. Continue to the Trecenydd roundabout, go straight across. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is behind the Cedar Tree pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel Caerphilly
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing