We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Caerphilly

“Well worth a visit”

Fishermans Rest Inn
Ranked #25 of 104 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its been a couple of years since we were in BEDWAS and just had to see if the Fishermans Rest was as good as we remembered and indeed it was and better. I had the 3 lamb chops and they were brilliant, full of meat very little fat, which you would expect with lamb but these were so lean and tasty. My husband had the chicken in white wine sauce from the Specials board and it was equally as tasty. The food was fresh and hot and well presented

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for a 50th birthday there was nine of us. Food was lovely but when we booked we weren't advised that we would only have the table for an hour. We felt very rushed to eat two courses in an hour. The next lot of people were waiting who came early for table. That's the only complaint I think staff should advise people when booking you only have an hour as we would have asked for extra half hour.. Too rushed. Sunday lunch was lovely

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Debst475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

First visit to the Fisherman’s, pleased to say it was an excellent experience, attentive friendly staff, cosy inviting environment and the food was home made, hot and well presented with lovely friendly service. Possibly the nicest veg lasagna I’ve eaten. Very reasonable prices with a bottle of wine came with an ice bucket. Very enjoyable I will be back very soon. Well done ... customer service refreshingly superb.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 930russp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Booked a table as heard it was getting busier due to change of owners and standards. Early days yet, food was real good, mixed grills not only cooked nice but good quality ingredients also, vegetable curry was real tasty and the gammon and eggs were plentiful, tasty and not salty.
Good choice of drinks and prices are good.
Enjoyed our meals and will definitely return

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Stevesarahparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Went to the fishermans rest for a meal tonight as we walked in the pub was packed as it was black Friday had a table booked for 8pm was sat down by 8.15 food on the table by 8.50 food was very good only complaint was too much but that not a bad thing will definitely go back

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 475kevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Rest Inn also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Newport, South Wales
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Fishermans Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing