We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Red Kite

Red Kite
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Caerphilly
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Martsons two for one pub located in Caerphilly, a few miles from Cardiff City Centre and 25 minutes away from the Brecon Beacons national park.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was good even though the restaurant was very busy. The only down side was that the pastry on the steak pie was a little too hard.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzique2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd booked ahead of a visit to the Red Kite for a Saturday Evening meal whilst visiting family. We arrived at the time of booking but the table wasn't quite ready - it was clear it was very busy and the staff were apologetic and advised us to have a drink before they eventually took us to our table.

Good choice of drinks including a decent pint of Pedigree followed by a decent menu and plenty of specials available.

We had a good selection of starters and some very nice main courses. I had a port and Stilton steak which was very nice. All starters and mains were served in good time considering how busy it was. There was a delay in being able to order desserts and then receiving them but the staff were very apologetic about this and slightly upgraded the desserts.

Although there were a few delays we were in no rush so enjoyed a good catch up during the evening. It was extraordinarily busy and most of the staff were helpful and we all enjoyed the food and drink. The value of the meal wasn't bad either.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bensT9107YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to eat if just wanting something simple.. good beers good stall good service . Nice and tasty pies and steaks

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank zippydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Pleasant atmosphere, and happy staff. I will be going there again, to try something different. All the meals are good value.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manorcraft47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

A group of us went here for a meal for a few friends and it was amazing the food was beautiful service fantastic and have to say the barman a very nice young man called phill was amazing couldn't be more helpful all the staff was a credit to the redkite

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 1angelfsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Kite also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Red Kite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing