We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Caerphilly
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Caerphilly Castle
from $87.87
More Info
from $89.62
More Info
from $94.89
More Info
Reviews (1,844)
Filter reviews
1,844 results
Traveler rating
1,184
536
100
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,184
536
100
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leaning tower the dragon siege engines audio guide big cheese festival well worth a visit interactive displays nooks and crannies information boards town centre egg cheese walk around free entry entrance fee gift shop sunny day great visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,844 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Visited yesterday and had a great time ,very interesting .Spent 2 hours exploring this stunning Castle. We went back at night and so pleased we did as the pics are stunning. A truly spectacular place.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank goathead46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019 via mobile

Such a beautiful castle and big and lots to see recommend it to families and couples. Inside and outside things to see and the tall towers are hard to get up If you struggle with steps but worth the view!! Amazing will go again

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank hazlewood001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

The largest castle in Wales is well worth a visit. The ruins are spectaular. Cadw have also put a visual display with the grizzly history in one of the buildings which is worth a visit. The dragons are fabulous, l was speecheless. Great story, sadly when asking 2 members of staff about them they know nothing, one offered it was a very old story and related to the disagreement of England and Wales (what??!)

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank E2570PBvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019

Great to look around even when they have the big cheese going on, great to see and beautiful views. Even nicer at night litt up. Totally recommend. Great for all family and children.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Katldoddxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Ever since I first travelled to Wales, I wanted to visit Caerphilly castle, and this year I finally did it!

There are a couple of ways how you can reach Caerphilly, one way from Cardiff is with the bus. Just wait next to the castle walls and get a return ticket and then you’re good to go. Inside the bus (we took the Stagecoach to Blackwood), however, we didn’t have any screen announcing the next stops, there was just a silent automatic voice telling you which was next, so it’s best to check beforehand where you need to get off.

You can head to the right, just after the bridge, and before heading inside the castle, walk around the back of the castle for free. But if you want inside, you have to buy a ticket which is 8,90 for an adult.

Caerphilly castle is the biggest in Wales, and it was mainly built between 1268 and 1271. They have a wooden maze inside and although it’s more designed for children, it’s also a lot of fun for adults. There is a lot to explore and a lot to see and you can easily spend hours there. There’s also a tourist shop with some nice items, and also a café, but it wasn’t open during our stay, so I can’t say anything about that.

If you like castles, then Caerphilly castle really is a must. It’s beautiful, there’s so much to discover! I only fear that, during summer, this castle might be really full, and it’s definitely better when there are less people.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank KyFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews