We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”
Review of Caerphilly Castle

Caerphilly Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.33*
and up
Cardiff Day Trip from London
More Info
$389.84*
and up
Private South Wales Day Trip from Bath
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The fortress sprawls over a huge area making it the largest castle in Wales. Like the famous cheese, the castle has long been synonymous with Caerphilly. It dominates. Hogs the limelight. Think slumbering giant awaiting a call to arms. It's also a great backdrop for TV and film. It secured a starring role recently in the popular BBC TV series Merlin.
Newport South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Well worth a visit, - lovely town too. take time to visit the visitor centre for lots of really good information.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    400
    73
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman, Utah, United States
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wow! One of the largest Castle complexes in Europe.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is amazing, the way it is laid out, the amount of water defense and the way one can stand at the top and see all of the hills around it, one can understand how defensible this place was. Great place to bring kids, lots to see, well presented, and a nice village around the Castle. My third favorite in Wales.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
505 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Looks like a castle, feels like a castle”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great time exploring the castle. There are no interior furnishings so all of that is up to the imagination. It's easy to feel the centuries and to picture the rooms and courtyard at various times in it's long history. Plan on 2 hours to not be rushed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great wedding venue”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

attended so many functions over the years , love this castle , and on my doorstep .geese are always wandering around the moat , a great place .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank caterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Massive castle”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we first read that Caerphilly Castle was one of the largest in the UK, we actually did not believe it. OH MY GOSH this massive castle is a thrill to visit. We took the bus (26) which drops you off at Caerphilly and then you can get back on later to visit Castle Coch. We stayed for two hours just roaming around and learning about the layers of history of the castle. We could easily have stayed longer. We just wish that we had taken food for the ducks and geese who were on the grass and in the moat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caerphilly Castle also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Caerphilly Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing