We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old House”
Review of Llancaiach Fawr

Llancaiach Fawr
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This superbly restored gentry manor house is no ordinary heritage attraction. History here is tangible. The costumed servants of the house are living and working in 1645 and allow you to share and engage in their world. Fires crackle, candles flicker and the sounds and smells of domestic life make your visit a memorable experience of the past. It takes a moment to attune your ear to the unfamiliar speech within the Manor itself, but within seconds of your warm welcome you become immersed in the time of the Civil Wars and the cares and concerns of ordinary people living in extraordinary times.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Old House”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This old house is full of charm, going back in time, with a lovely cafe/resturant and a shop to boot

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    78
    20
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little bit of Wales”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

When Wales is good it is very very good and this is a little bit of perfect Wales. The weather doesn't matter. The news doesn't matter. Just being here matters

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ghost hunt”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

went for ghost hunt and meal had a fab time welcoming staff, mela before ghost hunt was very nice, enjoyed every minute cantwait to go back a worthwhile experience !!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank krissouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ghost watch”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

ghost watch run by the south wales paranormal society, we didnt plan to spend £30 on a ghost tour , but it was money well spent. just like most haunted without the hysteria, we got to use the scientific equipment and do our own ghost hunt, we had two excellent member of the paranormal society with us, we were also lucky enough to have one of the day time guides in our group - who was able to give us lots of information about the house and the people that lived there. the group was limited to 12 and then we were split into 3 groups. we had some luck in making contact using the spirit chaser machine. if you get the chance do this tour, we are already looking for the next tour like this

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank porthcawltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A wonderful insight into Stuart times, you really forget that you are living in modern times. Helpful staff guide you through the visit. The resturant facilities are excellant and suitable for all ages. Many events are held throughout the year all of huge educational value.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llancaiach Fawr also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Llancaiach Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing