We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want a lovely coffee, a piece of tasty cake and if you can find it! you need to try this oasis out.”

Hapus Ice Cream Parlour & Visitor Centre
Ranked #6 of 22 things to do in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“if you want a lovely coffee, a piece of tasty cake and if you can find it! you need to try this oasis out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Despite the awful signage from the road and an approach which makes you feel it must be a nursery? The Hapus ice cream centre ( awful name, too); consists of a lovely coffee shop with cosy seating, an open fire, lovely beverages and food, fab service and views to die for. This funky, secret oasis is so much more than an ice cream centre. I would personally market the cafe separately as it is the flake in the cornet of this business.
Please visit so it gets the recognition it deserves; so much better than you could imagine and it has ice cream too!!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonconon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice Ice Cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The ice cream was very nice but very overpriced and the portions were not the biggest. The view was very nice and the play area is nice for little kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aled F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Such a great place my fiance proposed here :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love this little parlour. It has stunning views over the welsh valley and is very peaceful. First visited here with my fiance (then boyfriend)....we loved it so much it became the place he propsed to me :) Perfect setting :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views, nice play area ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Cafe perhaps a little on the pricey side but the view is amazing so probably worth it!

A selection of cars and a decent play area kept the kids happy.

Helpful?
1 Thank bryspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A place I regularly visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is ideal place to relax while having one of their excellent ice creams and take in the views across the valley.
I have been here quite a few times, sometimes just my wife and me, other times with friends or as a treat for children - they have many toys such as bikes and other similar vehicles for the younger children to enjoy in a safe environment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hapus Ice Cream Parlour & Visitor Centre also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Hapus Ice Cream Parlour & Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing