We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service and very dated rooms”
Review of Court Colman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Court Colman Manor
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“poor service and very dated rooms”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

was sadly disappointed with this hotel-I was expecting a country house and with that a well-worn feel but this was simply dated and dusty. My room had cobwebbs around the window and the ensuite was a partitioned cubicle in the bedroom! The bed was soft and lumpy and the decor was mismatched and very shabby. When leaving in the morning there was nobody in reception or any indication where to find any staff so I had to call the hotel from my mobile to request someone come to reception so I could check out!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muirneanndublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its a shame you decided to write it 6 months AFTER you stayed. On the plus side, in the time that has elapsed since your stay our rooms have had major refurbishment which the guests that have stayed after you and the customers who choose to stay with us in the future will have the benefit of enjoying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    181
    94
    51
    39
See reviews for
87
352
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

stayed on business and was very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. the room was lovely and despite being huge, remained warm on a very cold night. the staff were incredibly helpful and I have already booked my next stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you're coming back to visit us and we will be happy to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here in August 2012 for a family wedding and having lived only a few miles away for most of my life this was the first time I had ever visited. We stayed in the French Suite ole as you would expect the bathroom had just been totally refurbished absolutely huge very modern and very clean.
The room as old as you would expect but the bed was to die for great night’s sleep, bar prices are a little on the high side but you expect that at a hotel, breakfast was a welcome surprise after the night before all in all great stay will come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5StarTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your time at the manor and we're happy that you got to enjoy our newly refurbished bathroom in the French room. As you live locally make sure you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

me and my wife decided to stay at the court coleman 11th 12th of jan for a w/end break and wasnt disappointed it was a lovely place to stay all staff were very helpfull and couldnt do enough for us breakfast was first class and our evening meal on sat night in the indian restaurant was lovely great atmosphere great service and great food
A big thank you to all staff for a great w/end pam/riichie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard1960_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you also got to enjoy our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the manor in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in the court Coleman in the Japanese room. It was spacious clean and welcoming with a luxury bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Luxury stay in a manor house. Staff were lovely and very welcoming. And a wounderfull meal in the Indian restaurant. I would definitely book to go back for a little get away.

Room Tip: I just booked and had one of the themed rooms it was a very modern room in a picturesque building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is nice when all the work we have done to renovate our bathrooms is appreciated by the customer. We are glad you got to experience our authentic japanese hot tub. Thank you for dining at our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back to the manor very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We decided to stay overnight after attending a Christmas function in Court Coleman. Firstly the event went well. The starters and deserts were nicely presented - and the service by the staff was very good. The main course was a carvery - the meat was excellent- and there was plenty of it. The vegetables could have been a little warmer - but we were towards the end of those being served. So overall the thumbs up for that.

The main bar was a little swamped by the number of people arriving- but the arrival of another barman certainly moved things along. The prices were about what you would expect to pay in an out of town venue - that is obviously not as cheap as your "local" - and even that isn't cheap any more.

Others have commented on the decor- yes it does need a facelift - but that costs money- and of course that will be passed on to the customer. Our room was quite adequate - a t.v., comfy bed, warm (especially as it was a cery cold night) and with usual tea making facility. The only strange thing was that the room appeared to have had a facelift- but the bathroom door hadn't been painted.

Buffet breakfast was fine - one reviewer moaned about the coffe in a flask - so? At least the coffee pot was refilled regularly and didn't stew on your own table. So you have to get it yourself.

The rest of the staff were great and the hotel accomodating when some of the party missed out through illness. My only critcism is the lack of a clear "accessibilty" statement on their website. It may be there - but I couldn't find it. The stairs in the entrance are great to look at, but those of moderate walking problems can be a real task.

Overall good value for what we paid

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and quality - really you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good experience with us. Next time you come, you will be able to see the improvements we are continuing to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely house but no atmosphere because
of lack of customers .
Italian room nice .
Huge room but tv too small for room.
First night Indian meal ok but not award winning,second night "Mediterranean menu
was tried but awful food very bad .
Not sure why they advertise Mediterranean
menu.
Would be better to concentrate on Indian with a few non Indian alternatives.
Always remember , there is generally a reason Hotels are on Groupon or Living Social.
Staff friendly .
Probably not visit again .
Lots of things I could write but we didn't pay much so fair play .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for review. We are very proud of of indian restaurant and get rave reviews. Its a shame you cant please all of the people all of the time. Not quite sure what you mean by "there is a reason that hotels are on groupon or living social". We as a hotel unfortunately do not run on a 100% occupancy so we are happy to welcome customers to our establishment that might not otherwise visit us. Im sure if you ran a hotel, you would be full every night and you wouldnt need a "reason" to use a voucher site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
2.7 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
354 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
10.0 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Colman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Colman Manor

Property: Court Colman Manor
Address: Court Colman Farm Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Colman Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Court Colman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Colman Manor Bridgend, Wales
Court Colman Manor Hotel Bridgend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing