We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Court Colman Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Court Colman Manor
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a nice pleasant weekend away where we stayed at this hotel. Arrived 2ish on Friday had a warm welcome and was pleased that our room was ready. We were given the Morrocan room - if you have this room and there is a party you are above this area and unless you can get asleep with noise blaring this room is not for you.
The shower in this room alsoneeds to be updated
As it is getting colder the room was quite chilly but when we pointed this out we were advised that the heating would be being put on soon. Probably notwhat you need to hear.
The scenery is amazing and the hotel has character, the staircase is amazing and for a wedding would be fantastic photo opportunity,
Breakfast could have been better - it was a hot buffet, the first morning for breakfast we were the last guests down even though we were down at 9.00 and technically breakfast did not end till 10;00 the items in the buffet had been there for quite some time and were not warm.

The next day it was roughly the same but they wer replenishing the food.

On the whole would visit again as good value -on a living social deal and excellent scenery. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for any other than the morrocan room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gil0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am glad to tell you we have had a brand you bathroom fitted in your room. (113). We have also had a full refurb of the room. However if you do want to stay with us again, please feel free to choose one of our other themed rooms that are very popular as you can see from recent reviews.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the manor soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    177
    90
    51
    37
See reviews for
81
347
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Disappointing, cold main room, no atmosphere due to guest to close together and in different rooms, the curry was plain so not what reviews i read before had ,maybe just unlucky this time. The small bar hopeless for large numbers and the main very cold and dated all over , the shades to small for a very large area, it looked dirty with cobwebs to the ceiling in this area, the floor tiles way not in keeping for a country house. The prices high and the decoration not altered in years to the main areas, is any being put back to improve such a lovely location? could be a greater place. walking in heels from the back car park avoiding potholes with no lighting was very awkward

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review however i'm not quite sure what to make of it. In May you wrote a review for us and said "well done for keeping this gem going. Keep at it". Now only 6 months later you are saying the decor hasn't been altered in years????? I can clarify that a lot of work has been done, including work you cant see. We have had a whole new boiler system to help the water and heating in the hotel. The whole roof has been worked on. The restaurant, cocktail bar and TV lounge have had a total refurb as have all the rooms and we will continue making improvements to the building because we love the building and we always want our guests to be happy. However we do understand that you cant please all the people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed her for a wedding we had been invited to. The grounds were stunning as was the wedding room downstairs. A very nice location to hold a wedding reception. I felt the downstairs had the character I expected for such a venue but once upstairs I felt it needed a facelift.
Our room we stayed in was nothing special not the luxary I thought it would be. The beds were up against the headboard which was hiding a radiator, making our pillows very hot indeed. The bathroom although spacious had a nasty black mould on the top of the wall not a very nice sight when taking a shower!!
The food for the wedding party was nice but could of been hotter, however the evening buffet was very nice indeed. Breakfast wasnt up to much could of been cooked better and a lot hotter than it was. Drinks at the hotel were very expensive also.
Overall a nice stay but could of been better needs a face lift upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepygirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It seems in general you had a good stay with us. Regarding the room. From reading your review i think it is 117. This is a twin room and has recently been refurbished with a brand new bathroom consisting of a large walk in shower. I am sure if you come back again, you will approve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just a simple overnight trip for business, arriving one evening to get in to work the next day. Friendly greeting on arrival, conversational staff but no fuss. I found the Indian themed room to be clean and spacious, well furnished with 'antique' fixtures, and with a large and quite modern bathroom. Tried the onsite restaurant as it has won awards, despite Indian food not really being my thing, and found the dishes to be very fresh and really quite superb. Nice wine, good waiter. Coffee facilities in room, with decent biscuits. Quick and efficient checkout. An old building retaining most original features, fine staircase, nice panelling, generally unspoilt by modernisation except where neccessary, so just as I like it. One of my better recent stays and nothing for me to criticise, so the full five stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ideasfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really happy that we converted you to our Indian food and that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at the manor next time you are here for business (or pleasure).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Booked for one night's stay at the Court Colman Manor, we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Our themed room (The Indian) was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The suprise of finding that the bath/shower was as whirlpool bath added to the very wonderful experience.

We dined in the Restaurant and can thoroughly recommend anyone staying at the Manor to sample what is truly mouth melting food.

Due to the weather conditions we were not able to explore the gardens; however, will definitely do so when we next stay at this truly welcoming, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmaiden1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy you had a good stay with us and it is nice to know that the improvements we have made to the indian room are appreciated by you and other guests. Thank you for your restaurant comments too, we're glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully next time you will have nicer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the court Colman manor house as I was invited to a wedding there. The hotel has stunning grounds and views are lovely, and the Hotel itself is beautiful.
We arrived and checked in which was great, staff were friendly and asked if we would like our bags taken to room.
When we got to our room which was very basic and not luxury which I thought it would be I found dust everywhere the room just was not clean!
Bathroom was clean but just felt the room could have done with some TLC for £77 a night room.

Breakfast was ok but not hot! And wallpaper in the breakfast area was all peeling and ripped not a good sight.

I thought the prices on drinks very very expensive but of course you pay it :)

Overall had a good sleep and lovely time at wedding but think hotel needs some attention.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathybrownstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate all our customers comments. I can assure you that we are constantly giving the hotel the attention that you ask for. We will continue to do in the future and im sure if you visit us again you will be happy with the improvements we make.
With regards to the "very, very" expensive drinks you had, im not quite sure what you drank but we are very price competitive with other hotels in the area. Hopefully we will see you back at the manor again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Reading a previous review I'm not sure if they actualy stayed at the same Court Coleman Manor hotel that we did !
Our Daughters partner booked a weekend break for us and when choosing the booking date I was warned by reception that a wedding party was booked for that Saturday and the music would not finish until midnight. Told her that it would not be a problem to us.
We arrived 10pm and given key to the Indian themed room.
Nice cosy room with tea & coffee making facility plus tv .
Room was very clean and bed was comfy.
En suite with Bath was modern and clean with towels changed each morning.
After freshening up we went down to the bar which was busy with some wedding guests but still we managed to get a table.
Enjoyed the music and hotel manager came over and spent about 10 mins chatting with us making us feel very welcomed..
Music finished at exactly midnight as promised (to our disappointment !).
Bar stayed open until we left.
Morning buffet breakfast was choice of typical full english plus cereals and fruit etc.
Receptionist suggested a day out visit to St Faggans which is the Welsh Life outdoor museum.
Just have to pay £3.50p parking and its free entry to acres of pretty woodland with rebuilt welsh historic village life properties.An excellent day out.
Evening meal in the Hotel BOKHARA indian award winning restaurant with an eat all you want buffet for £10 was great value.
The hotel grounds are worth a walk around and must have been spectacular when the hotel was a private owned house.
All in All we spent a very relaxing weekend break at the Court Coleman Manor and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would probably try a different themed room just for the experience.
Having a wedding party staying there at same time as us was just an extra bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnybgood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. It was a pleasure meeting you. It is just a shame it wasn't for longer than 10 minutes. Nevertheless, i'm sure we will be aquainted again on your next visit when you come and try one of our other themed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#15 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Colman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Colman Manor

Property: Court Colman Manor
Address: Court Colman Farm Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Colman Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Court Colman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Colman Manor Bridgend, Wales
Court Colman Manor Hotel Bridgend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing