We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, clean and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wyndham Arms
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
284 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Central, clean and good value for money”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A weatherspoons Hotel, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. The room is clean and modern and well laid out. The Pub is clean and the food good value for money as well as the room cost which was £35 per night, excellent value for what you get. This would be £80 anywhere else. I stayed Tuesday and left Thursday so I did not experience any noise. So if you do not like the noise avoid the weekend. Yes I would, and already have, recommended to others in my company. Dropped point because WiFi does not work in the rooms, and they do not do room service

Room Tip: Bridgend is not the prettiest of towns, but do not miss a trip to Ogmore Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for recognising our dedication to cleanliness, good quality rooms and customer service, it is excellent to see we did not fault within any of these aspects during your recent stay. It is also great to hear that our value for money is recognised, we like to think we offer top rate accommodation at customer friendly prices, and it is lovely when customers, like yourself, can appreciate the quality we provide for the low cost.
With regards to the WiFi issue we understand that this is frustrating for some guests, and although there is WiFi in the bar area it is understandably not as comfortable as using it within the comfort of your own room. On a positive note we are having WiFi installed within the hotel and as of Monday the 15th of July all our guests will be able to access WiFi within their rooms and in all the public areas of the hotel. Thank you once again on behalf of myself and all my staff for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    95
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
72
122
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is not, and does not claim to be, a top notch hotel. We were simply looking for somewhere clean to rest our heads when visiting family in the area, and that's exactly what we got. It cost us £33 for a one night stay without breakfast. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The mattress was comfortable and there were plenty of towels and pillows. We didn't get the best night's sleep ever,mainly because of the noise from people talking loudly in the street in the middle of the night. The hotel is attached to a public house located right in the centre of town, which stays open until 1 in the morning, and because of this it is pretty noisy. So if you want a peaceful, quiet location don't stay here!
We could not fault the reception we got when we arrived, we were offered help with our bags and the receptionist showed us to our room, explained how everything worked and gave us details of the staff who would be on hand if we needed anything. We have had less friendly and helpful welcomes from much more upmarket hotels - very impressive indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are however sorry to hear that the noise levels affected your stay. Due to our town centre location and our location above the pub some rooms do experience some noise on busy weekends, luckily we do not often get complaints regarding noise disturbance but we understand that it is frustrating for those who do experience this problem. May I suggest that on your next visit you request a quiet room, our staff will be more than happy to arrange a quiet room away from the main entrance of the pub and the main road, we understand that sleep quality is everything and we endeavour to provide all our guests with the best night sleep. On a more positive not we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, we like to think that our customer service skills are impeccable and when customers comment on them it really does make us feel like all our hard work does pay off. Thank you once again for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Arms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The service was great and friendly, you couldn't have asked for more. The room was both clean and tidy, but the noise from the street was so bad you couldn't sleep properly. This ruined what would have been a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openshac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit, we are glad to see that once again our customer service, cleanliness and room quality were acknowledged, as we really do work extremely hard to maintain high standard accommodation at low cost prices for our customers. With regards to the noise issue it is unfortunately unpreventable due to our location, although we completely understand that the noise can affect your stay and especially your sleep quality there is very little we can do to prevent this. Our staff work tiresomely during busy nights within the town to keep noise levels to a minimum, although unfortunately as I’m sure you understand this is not always possible. May I add that some of our rooms do tend to be slightly quieter than others due to their location and if and when you chose to stay with us again, which we hope you do, we would be more than happy to try and allocate a room that is not on the main street. Once again may I thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at around 4pm (myself, husband, our twins girls and my mother) after spending the day in Porthcawl. It did take several minutes to get into the hotel as no one was answering the door, but when we did get in we found the duty manager Lisa to be fantastic. Lisa could not have been more helpful and friendly she even carried my mothers bag to her room. We found both the rooms to be clean with plenty of towels and clean white bed linen. There are faults, it tends to get very noisy outside, you have to park at a nearby car park as the town is pedestrianised. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hels08WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, we are all very grateful when customers take the time out to comment on their stay. As a hotel we pride ourselves on our customer service, and like to think that this is an aspect in which we excel. As you tend to find when there is only a small team of staff we are more like a family than colleagues and like to feel that each guest that checks in are not only checking in to the hotel, but also becoming part of our ‘hotel family’ for the duration of their stay.
With regards to the rooms we are pleased that you found everything that you needed was there, and up to the standards that you expect. Cleanliness is a key element of the Wyndham Arms and it is always good to hear that our guests are appreciating and noticing this. As with any town centre hotel we do get some noise, and we thank you for being understanding about this and not allowing it to taint your opinion regarding our establishment. In a similar way we understand that not having on site parking can be frustrating and we really do appreciate when guests, such as yourselves, don’t let this affect their stay with us.
On behalf of myself and all the staff here at the Wyndham Arms may I once again thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We pre-booked our stay at this hotel. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful reception staff. The room was immaculate and all facilities available. The room charges were very good compared to other hotels in the surrounding area also bearing in mind it was a bank holiday weekend. It was a little noisy a little later when the pubs closed which is only to be expected of a town centre hotel, but made for interesting viewing out of the hotel window of people going home in a merry manner. If your looking for a perfectly quiet hotel with just the sound of hooting owls at night, this is not for you but if your looking for a friendly run hotel with honest prices then it is. I would imagine it is quieter during a weeknight. But even the weekend noise is not so bad. I would like to mention the hotel manager-Lisa Driscoll. What a perfectly lovely and professional lady. She was an absolute pleasure to talk with at reception in the morning. I wish all managers in all businesses were of her calibre. It would make the world a much nicer place to be in. I even had a chance to speak with the head of the room cleaning dept also a lovely lady. Room cleaning never gets a mention in reviews, but I would like to mention it. They have already done there work and gone before we get to the hotel and we leave and in they go again to clean up the room when we have left often without praise. So thank you to this lady also for the professional job her team do on the rooms. What a pity we cant clone the likes of Lisa Driscoll and make hotel managers everywhere like her. I shall most certainly stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay Lisa and crew. Lisa Driscoll for manger of the year contest if there were one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are all so grateful for all your kind remarks, and personally it is always uplifting and encouraging to hear that as a manager I am meeting and exceeding customers expectations. As a small team we pride ourselves on our customer service, cleanliness and our value for money, all of which you have kindly noticed, this just goes to show that all our hard work does pay off, and hearing such positive feedback is so rewarding.
I would especially like to thank you for your comments regarding the housekeeping department and the cleanliness of your room, as you mentioned often this team is forgotten, yet without this team we simply would not have a hotel. The whole team works tirelessly to ensure the cleanliness of the rooms is 100%, customer comfort is key and we are glad that you found your room more than satisfying.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back through our doors in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Can't complain when you spend £35 to sleep a family of 4 and get above average service and accommodation. Yes main bed not the softest, but kid’s beds mattresses were Hypnos (for those in the know the queen has one).
Excellent staff who were both genuine and helpful.
Parking is a 2 mins stroll away.
Down stairs is a standard busy bar selling good basic food which cost us £22 for more than we could eat.
Breakfast was £12 in total and came with pints of orange juice.
For overall value you can't beat it.

Room Tip: No parking directly at hotel so use either multistory or other close by public car park. Both optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
On behalf of myself and all the staff here at the Wyndham Arms I would like to thank you for your kind comments and positive feedback, it is always good to know that our customers have enjoyed their stay with us. As you have recognised our value for money, on both our accommodation rates and our bar/food prices are indeed very good, here at the Wyndham Arms we feel we provide maximum comfort for a minimal cost, which is why so many of our customers return time and time again. It is also great to hear that all our staff were friendly and helpful, our team of dedicated and knowledgeable staff are always ready to help and it is wonderful to hear that this is being recognised by our customers.
Once again may I think you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed one night with hubby on business and would have stayed longer if time had allowed
The area needs time to explore and I hope to visit again
Wetherspoons always good value, no frills but comfortable and better than some larger hotels that I have stayed in
Room was large enough, all amenities fine, however the 4 am glass collection by the local council woke us and then we found it hard to get back to sleep. This also happened at Wetherspoons Newport.
It was a Monday Bank holiday but I expected it to be noisier, however, it was very quiet, only a dozen or so in the bar and restaurant where we ate a passable meal and wine deal.
Always found Wethies (my husband affectionate name for it, possibly because of the real ales!)
welcoming, comfortable and of a decent standard. Would recommend to others but maybe not weekends as it could be noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glassdesign1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
On behalf of myself and all my staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. It is always good to hear when a customer has enjoyed their stay, this enables us to know where we excel and we like to think that, as you have pointed out, that our hotel is excellent value for money.
In regards to the noise levels at weekends, we very rarely have any complaints regarding this as we are lucky enough to be away from all the main clubs and pubs, we do however understand that you may get some noise from our pub although this is a bare minimum, if any at all.
Once again may I thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the near future, maybe this time you could stay a little longer and enjoy some of the local area as well as our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
2.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
372 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Property: The Wyndham Arms
Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyndham Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing