We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is hard”

Southerndown Golf Club
Whimple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is hard”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Played here in September. Pro fixed me up to play with Society as I was on my own and they were good company. Front 9 parkland, good test, mainly due to wind, and it can blow. Back 9 is links, with really deep stuff just off fairway, slightest shot offline, into the thick stuff and it's reload time. The wind can make it really difficult. The greens were very good and I think the fairways are good, I just wasn't on them often enough. Friendly staff , particularly the Pro. Great views. I would recommend it, but have plenty of balls if you aren't very staright

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BaliPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“All year golf”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a splendid natural championship golf coarse with magnificent views and is a very good test for even the lowest of handicaps on this famous coarse. Fabulous natural surroundings with lots of history and the hospitality and standard of food in the clubhouse is well worth the visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Top class golf course”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Husband is a member. Course never becomes waterlogged
and the views are exceptional

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pam1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great course, great clubhouse”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The course is open to sheep so you do get the usual links problems! That said it is a first class and interesting course. The clubhouse offers some good food and drink to round off your round!

Helpful?
Thank paul2hoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southerndown is a hidden gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Southerndown is a true test of golf, don’t expect target golf here. This is a course where you have to manage your game through the natural contours and firm greens, around the gorse and bracken and pot bunkers - and then there is the wind off the sea! This is golf as it should be.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LlewMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southerndown Golf Club also viewed

Ogmore-by-Sea, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Southerndown, Bridgend
Ogmore-by-Sea, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Southerndown Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing