We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for birdwatching whilst enjoying a nice snack.”

Parc Slip Nature Reserve
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 247 acre Parc Slip Wildlife Trust Nature Reserve with its brand NEW VISITOR CENTRE has something for everyone: A variety of different habitat types supporting many different species for wildlife enthusiasts. A safe area for families to discover and enjoy nature. For cyclists, well-maintained traffic-free cycle tracks, including a 4km stretch of Sustrans National Cycle Route 4. Over 10km of tracks for dog walking, with water and free dog waste bags available at the Visitor Centre. Accessible paths on the Nature Reserve for wheelchairs, walking sticks and for those with sight problems. The Centre and Coffee Shop are fully accessible. ACCESS into and throughout the Reserve is exceptional; with dipping platforms near the Visitor Centre, access-for-all pathways, cycle ways, natural pathways, bird hides and picnic benches. And some Events put on here take you deep into some normally hidden parts of the Reserve. The Visitor Centre with its large free car park is set in open countryside but right by the road, and just a few miles from Bridgend. Northern Wetlands HideNorthern Wetlands Hide. NEW FOR 2013 is the freshly reopened Parc Slip Wildlife Trust Visitor Centre with Coffee Shop and upstairs Discovery Room, which is available for hire. A new events programme, with activities including wildlife surveys and guided walks, is running from the Visitor Centre. And there are many exciting developments planned for the Nature Reserve, such as the new arable crop field to provide a seed crop for breeding birds.
Margam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for birdwatching whilst enjoying a nice snack.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to come to if you enjoy a walk, like to spot birds, reptiles, butterflies and other wildlife. I have been on several of the organised walks around the reserve and loved every one. The volunteers and staff have been very knowledgeable and helpful. I come to the cafe regularly and the food has been delicious. It is locally sourced when possible and freshly prepared on the premises. Service is always efficient and the staff are very friendly. Altogether Parc Slip makes for a lovely day out in my experience!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reserve good but....”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The reserve is good and when new parts are settled will be even better. We saw Red Kites and Buzzards today (8th March 2014) among other things. There are bird feeding stations close to the cafe which get lots of visitors.
The only downside was the cafe service. Cafe itself is lovely and clean with 5* rating for hygiene but had to wait over 30 minutes after ordering for two latte and a hot chocolate. We were not the only ones waiting a long time. If not for cafe service would have given 5*.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great place to walk and get away from it all....”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Peace and solitude amongst the birds and other wildlife in an area that once was the domain of Euclid dump trucks, conveyers crushers and the other equipment you associate with Open Cast Mining. What once was just a hole in the ground has recovered into a small lake and a great habitat... mother nature in action reclaiming the spoils

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely spot lovely people, great food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

had corn beef pie and chocolate cake - very nice home made. coffee was also good for a tea room style cafe. good price. lovely spot and great organisation. lovely view.
service was with a smile too.

thanks. i'll visit again.
Wildlife trust are a worthy charity too. good luck.
saw plenty of wild birds too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank orthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandeilo
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful and interesting nature reserve”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We visited here recently to do some walking and to sample the new cafe and I have to say we weren't disappointed on either front. There are some great walks for both the casual wanderer to the more serious stroller and we had a thoroughly enjoyable day. When we visited, the new cafe were only serving coffees and cakes etc but this was fairly soon after it opened and from following the reserves excellent and regularly updated Facebook page I can see that they have now expanded into savoury snacks too so we will definitely be paying another visit.

I`m not sure what more you could want from a day out - Lovely walks, the chance to see some incredible wildlife and a very resasonbly priced cafe all for the grand price of - £0!

Cannot recommend it highly enough. If you are a cyclist, a dog walker or just a nature enthusiast then what are you waiting for?!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpywesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc Slip Nature Reserve also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Southerndown, Bridgend
 

Been to Parc Slip Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing