We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklins Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Franklins Cafe Bar
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stopped by on Bank holiday Monday and the food was excellent. The roast beef & Horseradish baguette was absolutely beautiful. We also had the curry which was really good.

Unfortunately we were left waiting quite a while for our drinks to be brought to our table, which meant we only order one round of drinks. They are missing out by not serving drinks when ordered and before the food arrived. People on the table next to us had also been waiting a long time for a cup of tea, and when it was brought out the tea pot was half empty.

This place has recently been taken over so I'm sure that they will get into a routine and the service will improve. I hope so as the food was excellent and its the only place to eat in Ogmore-by-sea.

Further to the comment below, they now have a debit/credit card machine :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RapaNui27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little place overlooking the sea -make sure to book ahead!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a lovely small cafe overlooking the sea. We visited for breakfast and very luckily managed to get a table without phoning ahead. I have been since though and was unable to get a table - we were advised by the staff to ring ahead to see if a table is available in future. This is the only cafe in Ogmore-by-Sea along the seafront, and so can be very busy.
The food was lovely - I had eggs benedict, while my partner had the full-english. The prices are reasonable - please note they only take cash. The staff are really friendly, with a speedy service.

Accessiblity - all of cafe at groundfloor level, with outside seating also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarmanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quirky and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went for a breakfast before walking in this area and really enjoyed the experience. Staff friendly and quirky crockery. open all year and all day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamskelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed - We must have caught them on a bad day?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The service was as reported, welcoming, accommodating and enthusiastic. My family took vegan/vegetarian options and were well pleased at the meals served to them. From that perspective this establishment cannot be faulted.
However, as the only meat eater in the group I can only report my disappointment at the meal served up. I ordered the Thai (chicken) curry with Basmati Rice. Firstly, the rice was more like American long grain and definitely not Basmati. Secondly, the chicken part of the curry had been treated to a swift warming in the microwave and had actually been overdone. I will say, the first time the chicken had come into contact with the ( generic) curry was as it got put on my plate. Parts of the chicken were almost crispy while other parts were very hard and almost unpalatable. What's the point of complaining about such a dreadful offering? A conscientious cook/chef would not have allowed my meal to leave the kitchen, it really was THAT bad. I left the place quite confused. On the one hand my family had been well fed and satisfied with the food served while I was left feeling poorly served and quite disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food and staff were great, very querky and welcoming - nice food delivered with a smile loved the large portions of bacon and eggs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklins Cafe Bar also viewed

Southerndown, Bridgend
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Kenfig Hill, Bridgend
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing