We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am always a bit wary about booking hotels such as the Ibis, Holiday inn and premier inn.
This hotel however did really exceed my expectations, it is also located next to an amazing outlet retail park that houses makes such as Ted Baker Kurt Geiger to name a few.
Anyway back to the hotel
We walked in to be greeted with a smile (something you don't find very often these days) by the receptionist.
We were asked if we wanted the breakfast option which is buffet and a price of £8.95 but we decided to decline as we knew there was a harvester next door.
Our room was nice and perfectly adequate. it wasn't a massive room but most of the time the layout is more important, and that is where they exceeded my expectations.
Hairdryer ironing boards were all present in the room plus a flat screen TV if you want to laze about.
Bed was cozy and the premier inn again exceeded my expectation by offering customers two different pillows! i mean how many hotels do you go to where its either a super soft pillow or very hard.
They accommodated my partner who liked a soft one and for me they had a firm pillow.
After a good night sleep trying to sleep the hangover off we woke up and decided to walk to harvester for breakfast......however they were closed....
Hangover hunger pains we decided to go for the buffet premier inn offered.........GOOD decision! As much bacon eggs sausages u wanted, and it wasnt lying around getting cold, they make it fresh to order! Cold buffet was also very tasty!
Free parking offered!
All in all very nice stay and not far from Cardiff and Swansea
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robben1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    154
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
133
126
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night while attending a party.Receptionist was really friendly when checking in.Room basic and there is no bath in any of the rooms only a shower.
Paid for breakfast which was lovely did ask if I could have fried bread and she said no it was to busy.Staff serving the food were friendly though.
No fault only there is no bar or lounge to relax and have a drink.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughes1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Now, I'm no hotel expert but I've stayed in a few. My main annoyance of Premier Inn Bridgend is that it quite clearly used to be a Holiday Inn. Main indications are;
Tiny car park resulting in the likelihood you won't get parked and have to park in the nearby Supermarket or KFC car park
2. No baths and shower only (A tell tail sign of Holiday Inn)
3. Breakfast is served inside the hotel. Seems like a good idea but if served in a restaurant, you will get better service. It's just a fact of life.

Having said all that, it's typical budget hotel and you get what you pay for. I just wish I'd booked in the 'proper' Premier Inn, 5 miles up the road.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff okay, room,okay and location okay. Did the job for a one night stay to be honest but not a stand out Premier inn but it would be unfair to write something bad about this place. It did the job and the restaurant next door was pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellysinKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel to be of a good standard. However, we strive to be the best, so please do not hesitate to contact us with feedback on what can improve the level of service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed with the wife and kids for the Rugby League World Cup in Cardiff. Good location, comfy room and a nice pub next door for our evening meal. No problems and would stay there again. Sainsbutys next door where we went for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Why don’t you try our breakfast next time you stay? Don’t forget, two children eat for free with one of our ‘All you can eat’ Premier breakfasts.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stay in Premier Inns all over the UK and was disappointed by Bridgend's poor version. As always, the rooms were clean, well enough appointed with hair driers, extra pillows, tea and coffee facilities and a TV. The usual 30 minutes free internet access is provided - inadequate for business users - and I do hope this will improve in the future.

But my main concerns were as follows:

1. No baths. This hotel (unlike other Premier Inns) only has showers in tiny bathrooms.

2. Poor parking. I struggled to find a car parking place and noticed that many guests had double parked or had to park on the road because the site shares parking with other outlets.

3. Understaffed. There was nobody at reception when I arrived and the poor lady serving breakfast seemed to have to do everything from checking people in to serving breakfasts resulting in delays and slow replacement of bread for toast (for example).

None of these items are show stoppers - but in a world when there is plenty of competitors I would not choose to stay here again. A shame really - I like the brand - but this hotel does not do it much honour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am really sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, we do not have baths here like most of our Premier Inn’s. However, Bridgend M4 J35 Premier Inn is approximately 5 miles away from us and they have baths in all of their rooms.

We share the car park with the Harvester, so I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you on arrival. We do have an over flow car park for such occasions which is situated to the right hand side of the entrance to the main car park but I understand it can get very busy.

The comments regarding breakfast have been noted and actioned to prevent such events occurring in the future. We strive to provide the best possible service so I thank you again for your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Premier Inn Bridgend on Tuesday 15th October. We received a warm welcome, checking in was fast and efficent. We were on the third floor in a room directly facing the lift, we thought there would be problems with noise but we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was smaller than any Premier Inn we had stayed in before with one door that doubled up as the door to the bathroom and toilet door, a good way to save space but this tended to make the room feel claustrophobic. The staff were very helpful with directions into town which is about 2 miles away and takes 35 minutes to walk. However, there is a bus outside Sainsburys that runs into town. There is a Harvester next door which can become very busy especially if you arrive between 5-7 as the premier Inn shares the same car park. There is also a Designer outlet on site which is worth a look as there are some good bargains to be had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel M, Manager at Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your high praise of our hotel. We were glad to hear that you were impressed with everything you encountered apart from the bathroom. On your next visit we would actively encourage you to come back to reception with any problems you may have, we will do our best to accommodate wherever possible.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.8 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Address: The Derwen, Bridgend CF32 9ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A night on the tiles or a day at the beach? It's all on offer at Premier Inn Hotel Bridgend Central. In a central location with great nearby transport links, you'll be well placed to zip off and explore business and leisure destinations around Cardiff and South Wales. Catch the main event at one of Cardiff's stadiums. Grab a bucket and spade at Porthcawl Beach, or a designer bargain at Bridgend Designer Outlet. Or if it's the right time of year, worship the King at the Porthcawl Elvis Festival. Then relax with a tasty meal in our restaurant and a great night's sleep in your extra-comfy bed. Important info Please note, there may be possible noise due to nearby public transport links. Bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note there is limited car parking at this Premier Inn. Please be aware this Premier Inn only has showers. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Directions: From M4 Westbound: Exit Jct 36, turn left at roundabout. Hotel is on left. From M4 Eastbound: Follow sign to McArthur Glen designer outlet. Take 2nd left at roundabout at top of slip road. Transport and local information: Pencoed Railway Station 5 Miles Bridgend Station 2 Miles First Cymru Bus Co 5 Miles National Rugby Ground (Arms Park) 16.5 Miles Cardiff 16.5 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel Bridgend
Holiday Inn Bridgend
Bridgend Premier Inn
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing