We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a great place to dine and stay with such pleasent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I recently attended a family and friends dinner party,where we were a table of 14, and I found such excellence, in the quality of the hotel, staff and food were of extremely high standards, that I booked accommodation for the following weekend.
I cannot praise the staff highly enough and their attention to detail and understanding that food intorrelances are appriciated to great detail and made myself and my partner very welcome.
We arrived late for our accommodational stay and we were welcomed with such a friendly and warm atmosphere of the staff, it made our 8 hour journey seem like it never happened. Staff could not of been anymore helpful.
I was overwhelmed at my first visit to the Hotel about it's period features, and am pleased that with a light modern touch our room was full of original features - low ceilings, lovely windows and it made our stay at The Great House Hotel such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiann0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel having been booked by my company. i cannot praise this hotel highly enough and will return both to stay and to use the restaurant. Throughout my stay i was made to feel welcome by all the staff and the management. The service was attentive but i was afforded exactly the right balance between space and privacy - very relaxing. As an example when I needed to freshen my packed shirt for the morning I asked for an iron etc. The Landlady instead took my shirt and a few minutes later it was back in pristine condition. OK maybe that won't happen every time but it illustrates the approach at this hotel. The food was really excellent with a formal but not stuffy atmosphere in the restaurant. The rooms were individual with all those little touches that the big chains try to do but can't! I was booked by my company to stay in a 'grander' hotel with swimming pool and golf course the following week - but the impersonal experience made me wish I was back at The Great House. A really excellent hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for a surprise birthday for a family member. We could not recommend The Great House highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble - the management helped us plan the surprise and went out of their way to work around our plan for the evening. Manager Mohammed was a complete gem and staff efficient and fun.. the French waiter wished the Dutch birthday boy of 90 years Happy Birthday in Welsh, joined in the camaraderie with teasing and presented him with a gift. They made an important event one of the best ever and unforgettable. The menu choice arranged for us was inspiring and the food delicious.., kids were catered for , the courses were served to fit in with our speeches, kept hot and it was amazing value all round. Some of the party stayed at the hotel and were equally impressed. We have used so many four star hotels all over the UK for events and we rate this as the top one yet. It takes a lot of beating. Go there - it's close to the M4 and the coast nearby is stunningly beautiful. Enjoy - we certainly did .. and apparently Prince Charles did too. Will definitely go back - the sooner the better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jv2may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I shall pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My wife and I got married at The Great House yesterday. The Service we received from all the Staff was second to none. Nothing was too much for them and we were made welcome from the minute we arrived. Mohammed especially was fantastic, he couldn't help us enough. As for the food, absolutley first class. Everyone commented on how much they enjoyed it. Our wedding day was made special by everyone there, MANY THANKS to all! We will be back as soon as we can!
Graeme & Jeanette Davies.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-happy-couple-481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thanks, we hope to welcome you back at The Great House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Although we arrived at a busy time, the proprietor was very attentive. The room was simply fantastic, lacking in no facilities at all. The whole establishment was really clean, and oodled charm and history, all adding to the quality of our 24-hour stay there. The staff were very attentive and genuine, and the food was faultless. What made our stay particularly enjoyable were the many 'little touches' that add to the experience which, on their own seem minor, but added up do make a big difference (eg we were asked if we needed fresh milk to make tea - note: THEY asked US; or the proprietor offered advice on places to see, etc). The location of the hotel allows easy access to the main cities of S Wales, yet within easy reach of the coast and countryside. The hotel is adjacent to quite a busy road, and traffic noise was a little evident, but it soon 'disappears' and quickly get used to.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandomWalkNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We held a formal dinner party at The Great House for 60 guests and the whole evening was a great success! The chef put together a delicious menu in accordance with our budget and the room and tables were beautifully presented. The decor was elegant with soft lighting, music and lots of attention to detail which all helped to create a wonderful atmosphere. The food, wine and service were all first class (and very good value for money) and Mohamed and his team worked hard and efficiently to ensure everything ran smoothly. Absolutely everyone enjoyed themselves and we very much look forward to returning again for another function in a few months time!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thanks, we're glad you and your guests had such a wonderful time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Just thought i would write a review on the Great House Bridgend
we held our wedding there, we had a fantastic day, the staff could not do any more for us, the rooms where the guest stayed were clean well provided and warm.
the Wedding service was fantastic just how we wanted it on our special day, the manager Mohammed created a package for us which was better than we ever dreamed of.
the food was first class and well presented, we danced till late and awoke to a lovely breakfast.
my thanks to Mohammed and all staff for making our day so special.
J Holmes
Cardiff
20th January 2010

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank janjan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, General Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
663 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
8 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range: $94 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Restaurant Tommy Heaney our award winning restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing