We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty setting for Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Great House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty setting for Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful weather for a family outing of afternoon tea no doubt helped the overall experience. but the sandwiches were varied, cakes, delicate and scones well-cooked. Larger quantities of jam & cream would have been welcomed, but the service was good too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stessy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Front Office Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanky you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. The garden is lovely when the sun is shining, however, afternoon tea is also lovely in the colder months in front of our roaring fires! We will make sure to remaind the waiting staff to offer more jam and cream. There is always extra here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    17
    20
    9
See reviews for
68
95
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here recently for one night to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Nice house but disappointed with very small garden. Nice room, large with nice sized tv, tea/coffee etc, bath robes and toilettries. Unfortunately we got locked out of our room, it had an old fashioned click to lock button which must have dropped down when my husband slammed the door shut. The manager was brilliant, getting ladders and climbing in the room to let us in. This took a while and he gave us a free drink whilst we were waiting. Unfortunately the young waitress added this to our bill, but this was sorted when we checked out. The cost of one drink was awful though, we got charged £5.50 for a glass of Archers and lemonade, it only costs £13 a bottle in Tesco, that was well over the top. My husband who never complains and eats everything was not happy with his evening meal of sausage and mash - the sausages were over-cooked and the mash very dry and heavy. My vegetarian meal of a halumi burger was ok but a quorn burger together with the halumi would have been better. All in all a nice break with a very friendly and helpful Manager.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have taken each one into consideration, however we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to pop in here after a long day out in Tenby, so was not really dressed for the occasion. However we arrived and had our drinks and we then sat in the bar waited for our table in the restaurant, The young girl that served us was very polite, and the owner should appreciated there staff at lot more, we found the manger quite rude towards the staff and made us both fell a little on edge. Also it did not help we were both felt completely underdressed after being out in the sun all day. However placed our order for food, I had the calamari to start, average have had a lot better, needed salt and pepper and a touch of lemon. For my mains I had the lamb sausage with butter mash potatoes,goats cheese and tomato chutney, however nothing went together the whole plate was a bit all over the place, the tomato chutney was way to sweet and the mash was bland with no taste of butter so luckily I still had butter from my Breads, I decided to take all the side extras to the dish off and bring it back to a basic dish! I ordered some gravy and added a lot of salt and pepper and it was a nice dish. My boyfriend had the lamb, he loved the lamb amazing taste and you could tell it had been rested so you could taste the full flavour. However the parsnip mash pepper needed!! And the mint jelly ? Just some nice mint source would have made the dish. Deserts average to be fair, chocolate tart a bit to rich but that is personal preference, and I had a lovely raspberry sorbet, but did not think much to the rest of the dish. Overall staff are lovely and attentive and need all your need are meet, manger is rude and food very average! I think the chef could do with a salt and pepper shaker in the kitchen as seasoning food does not seem to be in his agenda ! A nice made out restaurant make you believe you are going to get 5 star Michelin food far from... Left a little disappointed have been to some lovely Michelin star restaurants in Wales and England and this will not on our return list.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloelouise18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit, however, although we are in the Michelin guide, we are not a Michelin starred restaurant and do not pretend to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The rooms are nicely decorated and appointed. Very traditional and clean. The food was amazing! What a gem! Well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Great House overnight after attending a wedding. As a small wedding venue the place was perfect...... warm & friendly staff, the public rooms are quirky and full of character. The quiet walled garden with plenty of seating is perfect for warm summer evenings. The evening meal was perfectly prepared and delicious, particularly as they were catering for 60+ diners. The following morning breakfast was lovely. I would definitely eat here again.
The bedroom and en-suite deco was a bit dated and was on the small side but it had all the essentials and more.
A word of warning to tall guests ...... some of the walkways upstairs have limited head height.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannewales55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went to our grandsons christening at the great house, and had their afternoon tea. What a wonderful spread, the price was good around £12.00 but was certainly good value.
The occasion was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been better.
Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We serve afternoon tea every day of the week if you would like to come back again with a friend. hope to see you at the Great House again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic lunch at the Great House. The standard of food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the piri piri scallops as a starter and the great house burger and fish with triple cooked chips for mains. This is no 'ordinary' burger or fish and chips; this is lunch great house style and it's fantastic! 10/10, we'll be back again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks! We are glad you had such an enjoyable afternoon with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
1.4 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.3 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Property: The Great House Hotel
Address: 8 High Street, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing